About TMD Texas Military Department

The Texas Military Department is composed of the three branches of the military in the state of Texas. These branches are the Texas Army National Guard, the Texas Air National Guard, and the Texas State Guard. All three branches are administered by the state Adjutant General, an appointee of the Governor of Texas, and fall under the command of the Governor.

Points of Interest:

Title 32 to Title 5 Conversion - August Update

Both the FY16 and FY17 National Defense Authorizations Acts directed the Secretary of Defense to convert a percentage of Title 32 Military Technicians to Title 5. The complete plan is not yet finalized, however, the Texas Adjutant General is committed to keeping employees of the Texas Military Department (TMD) updated on the progress of conversion efforts.

Beginning in the month of August, all non-dual status military technicians will be notified by their first-line supervisor, via a memorandum signed by the State HRO about their conversion to Title 5. This conversion will happen NLT 1 Oct 17.

Identification of dual-status positions to convert is on-going and will be completed NLT 1 Oct 17. Subsequent conversion of dual-status military technicians in these positions will be completed NLT 31 Mar 18.

We expect to provide additional updates as the process continues to include any updates based on pending legislation. For additional information, please contact your first-line supervisor.

Read More

Lone Star Portal

Safe Helpline

Counseling Line

Crisis Hotline

24/7 TMD
Family Assistance