Click here to download

TMD Logo

"Texans Serving Texas"


For more information contact the Texas Military Department State Public Affairs Office at 512-782-5620 or email at



Memorial Plaque Dedication Ceremony for Texas Army National Guardsman Killed in Action


FREDERICKSBURG, Texas (November 29, 2017) – The Texas Army National Guard will hold a memorial plaque dedication ceremony at the Fredericksburg Armory, Saturday, December 2, 2017, at 10 a.m. The memorial plaque honors Staff Sgt. Christopher Staats who was killed in action in 2009 while stationed in Wardak Province, Afghanistan.

Staats was a member of Echo Company, 536th Brigade Support Battalion, 72nd Infantry Brigade Combat Team, 36th Infantry Division, Texas Army National Guard.

Staats was raised in Fredericksburg and graduated from Fredericksburg High School in 1996. He joined the Texas Army National Guard while in high school and graduated from Texas A&M University in 2002. His awards include the Bronze Star Medal, the Purple Heart, Army Commendation Medal, Army Achievement Medal Second Award, Army Good Conduct Medal, Army Reserve Component Achievement Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Kosovo Campaign Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, Armed Forces Reserve Medal with M Device, Non-Commissioned Officer Professional Development Ribbon, Army Service Ribbon, Overseas Service Ribbon Second Award, NATO Medal with M Device, Air Assault Badge and Combat Action Badge.

The memorial plaque was donated by retired members of the Texas Army National Guard’s Company B, 249th Support Battalion and by Southwest Granite.

The ceremony is open to members of the public.





The mission of the Texas Military Department (TMD) is to provide the Governor and the President with ready and trained forces in support of the citizens of Texas and State and Federal civil/military authorities at home and abroad.

The Texas Military Department is commanded by the Adjutant General of Texas, the state's senior military official appointed by the governor, and is comprised of the Texas Military Department (formerly the Adjutant General's Department), the Texas Army National Guard (TXARNG), the Texas Air National Guard (TXANG), the Texas State Guard (TXSG) and the Domestic Operations Command (DOMOPS)

For more information about the Texas Military Department visit our Website at


Texas Military Department Public Affairs
P.O. Box 5218, Building 10
Camp Mabry (Austin), Texas 78703
Phone: 512-782-5620