

2200 W. 35<sup>th</sup> Street, Bldg. 15 Austin Texas, 78763

(512) 782-5515 (M-F, 0800-1600) ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil



# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

TXARNG Education Benefits	Page 3
State Tuition Assistance Program	Page 4
Hazlewood Act / Hazlewood Legacy Act	Page 5
Federal Tuition Assistance Program	Page 7
Credentialing Assistance Program	Page 9
<u>GI Bill Comparison Chart</u>	Page 11
<u>Montgomery GI Bill – Selective Reserve, CH 1606</u>	Page 12
Accessing Your NOBE	Page 13
Montgomery GI Bill "Kicker"	Page 14
Post 911 GI Bill, CH 33	Page 15
Harry W. Colmery: Forever GI Bill	Page 17
Transfer of Education Benefits	Page 19
How to Apply for GI Bill Benefits	Page 21
Testing Services (DANTES)	Page 23
Army Personnel Testing	Page 24
Contacts & Resources	Page 25

## **TXARNG Education Benefits**



Education Benefits

- State Tuition Assistance (a.k.a. STRP) Successfully Complete Basic Training (BT):
- Hazlewood Act/Hazlewood Legacy Serve 181 days of qualifying Federal Title 10 Active Duty Service

Receive a DD 214 at time of discharge



Army Education Benefits



VA Education Benefits

- Federal Tuition Assistance Program (FTA) Successfully complete AIT or BOLC
- Credentialing Assistance Program (CA) Successfully complete AIT or BOLC
- Montgomery GI Bill-Selected Reserve CH 1606 Successfully complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT)
- Montgomery GI Bill-Kicker
   Contract-Specific Benefits
   (Signed w/enlistment or extension contract)
- Post 9/11 GI BILL CH 33 Serve 90 days of qualifying Title 10 Active Duty SVS on/after Sept 11, 2001 Receive a DD 214 at time of discharge
- Transfer Education Benefits (TEB): Post 9/11 GI BILL CH 33 Serve 6-years of retirement eligible service Must agree to serve 4 years from date of TEB request

## State Tuition Assistance (State TA)

#### https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program

### How Do I Qualify?

- State benefit for active drilling members in good standing with the Texas Army National Guard, Texas Air National Guard or Texas State Guard (ADOS, Military Technician, M-Day are eligible). AGR not eligible due to other federal and state benefits earned.
- Qualifying ranks: all enlisted ranks; Officers O1-O5; Warrant Officers WO1-CW3
- Must be enrolled in an academic program of instruction leading to the first certificate, undergraduate, graduate or professional degree from an accredited Texas college or university. Second degrees must be progressive and not lateral.
- Must have completed Basic Training/BOT/RBOT
- Visit https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program for more details

### What Do I Get?

- Up to 12 credit hours of tuition & mandatory fees per fall and/or spring academic semesters. Funding not available for summer classes
- The standard award is the lower of 6 credits of tuition or \$2,250 per academic semester
- Award upgrades for more than 6 credit hours may be approved, up to 12 credits or \$4500
- State TA can be used or "stacked" with other tuition assistance and GI Bills, but cannot be used to duplicate benefits or exceed 100% of the cost of tuition and mandatory fees
- Available for up to 5 years or 10 academic semesters of received benefit

## How Do I Apply?

At the Beginning of Each Semester for which tuition assistance funds are requested:

- Visit <u>https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program</u> for the application form, deadlines and other instructions.
- Email questions to: <u>ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil</u>
- Award upgrades are based partially on date of application receipt. Send application in as early as possible.

At the End of the Semester

- Send electronic official transcript (PDF) to State TA Office to verify passing grades.
- Average payment time is 8-12 weeks after the end of the semester.

For additional information, please contact our office at: ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil

# Hazlewood Act / Hazlewood Legacy Act

https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood/

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of **up to 150 hours of tuition exemption**, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees. **The Hazlewood Act is only available for use at a Texas (tax supported) public college or university.** 

## Veteran:

- At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces
  - $\circ$   $\,$  Designated Texas as Home of Record
  - o or entered the service in Texas
  - or was a Texas resident;
- Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the Veteran's Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);



- Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);
- Currently reside in Texas;
- If the student is receiving federal VA education benefits for payment of tuition and fees, he/she may receive both benefits concurrently only if the federal VA tuition and fees benefit amount does not equal or exceed the Hazlewood exemption value.
- Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
- Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college's governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
- Meet the GPA requirement of the institution's satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution's financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.

## Child (Legacy Recipient):

- Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident;
- Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed dependent in the current/previous tax year;
- Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and
- Meet the GPA requirement of the institution's satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution's financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.

\*If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.

HAZLEWOO

## Spouse/Dependent:

Spouses and dependent children of eligible Active Duty, Reserve, and Texas National Guard who died in the line of duty or as a result of injury or illness directly related to military service, are missing in action, or who became totally disabled for purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or illness are entitled to each receive a 150 credit hours exemption.

- Be a spouse of a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces or the Texas National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual unemployability (IU) due to a permanent service connected injury or illness;
- Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
- Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and
- Meet the GPA requirement of the institution's satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution's financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the spouse of MIA, KIA, or service connected deceased Veteran.

## Apply:

- 1. Visit <a href="https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood/">https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood/</a> to download applicable forms.
- 2. Gather all the required documents. Submit the completed forms to your school.
- 3. Contact your school VA Representative, financial aid, or bursar office for guidance.

#### Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption TVC-ED-4 Eff. June 2016 Page 1 of 1 Documentation Checklist uired for Veteran Hadrewood Application Hadrewood Application DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty DD Form 214, Correction to DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (/ necessory) DD Form 215, Correction to DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (/ necessory) VA Certificate of Eligibility for GI Bill benefits (required if Veteran served on or after 9/11/2001) ed for Legacy Applicant: Hardewood Application Verenn's DD Form 214, Centribute of Release or Discharge from Active Duty Verenn's DD Form 213, Centribute to Release or Discharge from Active Duty Do Form 213, Centribute to 2018 and 2018 and 2018 and 2018 and 2018 and 2018 Sentimeter and the Sentimeter of Sentimeter and Sentimeter Sentimeter Sentimeter Sentimeter Annual Integrative Annual Integrative Annual Ann ath Certificate for dec red for Spouse or Child (other than Legacy) azlewood Application Hadewood Application Do From 1300, Report of Counsulty if the Vereinia ded while on estive duty Do From 1300, Report of Counsulty if the Vereinia ded while on estive duty Do Form 131, Correction to DO 214 Certificate of Beloses or Discharge from Active Duty (if nece VA certificate of Elipsibility for G all Beloweinis (required If Vereina served on or after 9/11/2001) Letter from VA indicating the Vereinia disabled A Rating Decision Letter if the Veteran is ousabled inth Certificate, or Marriage Certificate, or Adoption Documentation, or IRS Transcript of Tax Return https://www.irs.gov/individuals/get-transcript) from current or previous year indicating dependency of ://www.irs.gov/Individuals/get-transcript) and identification of designee if applicable To verify military service prior to January 1, 1950 the following forms are acc Record/Report of Service: WD AGO 53, WD AGO 53-55, WD AGO 53-58 Notice/Report of separation: NAVCG- 553, NAVMC 78-PD, NAVPERS-553 The DD Form 214 and other military records may be requested from the National Archives at the following webite: <a href="http://www.archives.gov/veterand">http://www.archives.gov/veterand</a>) AN Form 13083 may be substituted for a DD Form 214 upon National Archives welfraction that the Veteran's DD Form 214 has been tot or destroyed. The Veteran still must prove home or record or place of entry into active duty as Texas per the procedures in Block 7 below. Veterans with qualifying service on or after September 11, 2001, are required to provide a VA Certificate of Eligibility statement with their application regarding their Post 9/11 G ill eligibility (applies to all applicants) except as listed below). Legoor recipients where the Veteron'S D Form 21A has a separation done offer dependent 01, 2001 and point of August 1, 2009 dong recet to solumit 04 K Certificate de Elipibility if the type d approximation is lated as "Discharge" or "Eliterment" (is include times medicing theorem control and the enterminent (is include theorem control and the enterminent of the control theorem control and the enterminent of the control theorem controls are an enterminent and the controls and the enterminent of the control theorem controls and the enterminent of the control theorem controls and the enterminent of the control theorem controls are an enterminent of the control theorem controls are an enterminent and the controls and the enterminent and the controls are an enterminent and the control theorem controls are an enterminent and the controls are an enterminent and the controls are an enterminent and the control theorem controls are an enterminent and the control theorem controls are an enterminent and the controls are an enterminent an an enterminent and the contro ns whose DD Form 214 does not indicate a home of record at time of entry into active duty or the place y into active duty as Toasa will be required to provide a Teasa high school transcript indicating their ison within one year of their enlistment. If the entry date is more than one year after high school tion, the Vetran will be required to provide one of the following: lease or mortgage documentation, pay Way, or any other documentation the school may require, verifying Texas residency in accordance with plet & Chapter 54, Texas Education Code. TEXAS VETERANS COMMISSION 12/463-3168 | TTY/TDD: Dial 711 | Fax: 512/463-3932 | E-Mail: Edu An Equal Opportunity Emolecutor ion@tyc.texas.gov | Web: www.t

#### Hazlewood Checklist

#### Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application TVC-ED-1a Eff. June 2016 Page 1 of 1 Supporting Documentation Instructions To apply for the Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption, you must submit the following documents to your college or university: 1. The Hazlewood Exemption Application (completed and signed). For a tutorial on completing the application, visit: ov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx Report of Separation or Discharge, DD Form 214 [and DD Form 215 if the DD Form 214 has been amended wrifty the Veteran's place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, ingth of service, dates of service. The copy you provide to your institution must be legible and contain the information listed ab DD Form 214 may be obtained from the Vational Archives: tps://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service Into J revenue of the second s NA Form 13038, Certification of Military Service Documentation from the National Archives that the Veteran's NA Form 13038 was sent in lieu of the DD Form 214 due to the DD Form 214 no taking on file Documentation that Veteran met the requirements of Subchapter B, Chapter 54, Texas Education Code for resident tuition on the date of entry into active duty indicated on the DD Form 214 Certificate of Eligibility for federal GI Bill® benefits – To verify eligibility for the Veteran's, or dependent's federal education benefits. Certificates of eligibility may be obtained by completing an application at <u>https://www.wets.gov/education/apph/</u> If the Veteran's final discharge is prior to 9/11/2001 the certificate of eligibility is not required If the Veteran died while in service: Report of Casualty, Form DD Form 1300 – To verify the Veteran's place of entry or home of record, and that his/her death was service related. If the Veteran is deceased (not service connected) - Death Certificate for deceased Veteran for use in a Legacy If the Veteran is totally disabled or individually unemployable due to military service-related illness or injury: You must have a current (within one year) disability ratings decision letter from the VA indicating that rating. If you are not the Veteran, **Relationship Documentation** – Submit one or more of the following documents to verify your relationship to the eligible Veteran. Bithit Certificate, or Mariage Certificate, or Adoption Papers, or Recent IRS Tax Transcript: <u>https://www.ins.gov/individuals/get-transcript</u>. Veterans must reside in the state of Texas during the term that the exemption will be used. Children and spouse of eligible Veterans must be classified as a Texas resident by their institution Hazlewood Online Database Registration – To comply with the Federal Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) requirements, all applicants (Veteran and dependents) must register into the Hazlewood online database to use the Hazlewood Texmiption at <u>https://pailewood.veteras.ov/subdents/</u>. TIXAS VYCTEANIS COMMISSION NORE: 1.477-498-3823 or 512/453-3168 | TTY/TDD: Du 20111 | Fax: 512/443-3982 | E-Mall: Education/Htvc.Texas.gov | Web: www.tvc.texas.gov An Equal Opportunity Employer

#### **Instructions and Application**

## Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) Program

https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-eligibility

#### What Is It?

FTA is financial assistance provided for voluntary off-duty education programs in support of a Soldier's professional and personal self-development goals. (Reference: AR 621-5, Army Continuing Education System)

## How Do I Qualify?

#### Tier 1:

- Be currently serving in the ARNG and completed either Advanced Individual Training (AIT), Warrant Officer Basic Course (WOBC), or Basic Officer Leaders Course (BOLC).
- Have not attained a bachelor's degree and wish to pursue an undergraduate academic certificate, associate's or bachelor's degree or
- Have attained a bachelor's degree and wish to pursue a graduate academic certificate or
- Have attained a bachelor's degree without the use of FTA and wish to pursue a master's degree.

#### Tier 2:

- Be currently serving in the ARNG and completed either Advanced Leader's Course (ALC), Warrant Officer Advanced Course (WOAC), Captain's Career Course (CCC), or equivalent.
- Have attained a bachelor's degree with the use of FTA and wish to pursue a master's degree.

#### Service Requirement/Obligation:

- Have an ETS or MRD after completion of FTA funded course(s).
- Officers and Commissioned Warrant Officers are subject to a four year Reserve Duty Service Obligation (RDSO) OR a two year Active Duty Service Obligation (ADSO).

#### Additional Criteria:

- The college is regionally or nationally accredited AND is a participant in GoArmyEd (GAE).
- The funded course(s) meets a requirement listed in your personalized degree plan provided by the school (this can include prerequisite courses).
- You maintain an undergraduate GPA of 2.0 or a graduate GPA of 3.0 for FTA-funded courses.
- You must submit your FTA request at least 5 business days prior to course start date.
- NOTE! FTA is NOT authorized simultaneously with Chapter 1606/MGIB-SR or Chapter 1607/REAP for the SAME course (Ref. DODI 1322.25).

GO ARMY ED

## What Do I Get?

- FTA will pay up to **\$250** per semester hour and up to **16 SHs** per fiscal yr.
- Lifetime limit of 130 undergraduate semester hours and 39 graduate semester hours.
  - Up to 21 additional semester hours for a Transition Certificate not previously received within the past five years. Must apply within three years of anticipated separation.
- FTA will pay toward one credential at each of the following levels:
  - Associate Degree, Bachelor Degree, Master Degree, Undergraduate/Graduate Certificate
  - First Professional degrees are NOT eligible (i.e. doctorate degrees, Juris doctorates).

## **Programs NOT Eligible For FTA**

- Courses leading to a credential that are lower or lateral to the highest credential you have already earned.
  - Example: if you have a bachelor's degree (even if you came in the ARNG with one), you cannot use FTA to pursue a second bachelor's or associate's degree.
- Any program that bundles tuition and fees together into a lump sum charge.
- Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or courses that do not meet degree requirement.

## How Do I Apply?

- Create a user account in GoArmyEd.com:
  - Go to www.goarmyed.com and establish a GAE Federal Tuition Assistance account by clicking on the "New User" button and entering all required data.

#### Tips to remember when applying:

- Apply for FTA up to 60 days prior to the class start date, but no later than 5 business days prior to the class start date (all FTA MUST be approved prior to the class start date).
- You must submit an FTA request for each individual course that you want FTA to fund.
- If your school charges by quarter hour or clock hour, GAE will automatically convert them into semester hours on the FTA request.
- If your school's courses are not listed in GAE (i.e. you have to physically enter your courses into each FTA request), you must upload the following documentation into your GAE "Education Record" eFile:
  - Cost Verification Statement: individualized document such as a billing statement/invoice specific that breaks out the cost of tuition and fees separately.
  - Class Schedule: individualized document that shows all courses to include class name, start date, end date, course number, and number of credit hours.
  - All of these documents MUST have your name and the name of the school on them, and cannot be in an editable format.
- After you complete six semester hours of FTA-funded coursework, you must provide an individualized degree plan/student agreement to GAE.
- New FTA users and anyone who changes their degree plan are required to complete VIA.

# **Credentialing Assistance (CA) Program**

#### https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program

#### **Overview**

- The Army Credentialing Assistance (CA) program provides up to \$4,000.00 in funding for training, material, fees, recertification and exams leading to an industry-recognized academic or vocational credential located on Army COOL.
- All Soldiers who have graduated IADT, BOLC, or WOBC are eligible to complete as many credentials as desired keeping in mind the \$4000/FY cap.
- Officers will incur 2/4 year service obligation (SO) depending on status; Officers will not incur SO for exams/recertification
- Subject to recoupment if training is not passed or exam is not taken.

## How Do I Qualify?

- Soldiers may begin work on their first credential upon successful completion of Advanced Individual Training, Warrant Officer Basic Course, or Basic Officer Leaders Course.
- Must not be flagged
- Holds related to: student agreements, GPA, Military Withdrawal, Course Drop, or any other hold related to TA will **NOT** keep Soldiers from using the CA program.
  - ✓ CompTIA
  - ✓ Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
- ✓ Certified Personal Trainer (CPT)
- ✓ Certified Welder (CW)
- ✓ Commercial Driver License (CDL)
- ✓ Associate Professional in Human ✓ Lean Six Sigma Resources (aPHR)
   ✓ Project Manage
- Certified Logistics Technician (CLT)
- Project Management Professional (PMP)
- ✓ And 1600 More!





#### What Do I Get?

- Soldiers may use both Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) and Army Credentialing Assistance (CA); however, the combined usage <u>shall not</u> exceed <u>\$4000</u> per FY.
- CA will pay credentialing expenses for classroom, hands-on, online/blended training (and associated materials) to include: manuals, study guides, textbooks, processing fees, test fees, and recertification of credentials.

#### Who is ineligible for the CA?

- Contracted Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) scholarship cadets (receiving either tuition and fees or room and board incentive)
- ROTC Cadets contracted under the Green to Gold ROTC program
- Soldiers flagged under provisions of AR 600-8-2

#### How Do I Apply?

- Create a user account at www.ArmylgnitEd.com
- Click the "Get Started" link.
  - Create a Login.gov account and link it to your military email
  - Click the "Get Started" link to sign in and then click "Add a Credential Path" once logged in.
  - o Select the Credential you are seeking- Any credential listed on ArmyCOOL
  - Select the Vendor- If the vendor is not listed, contact the education office to ask for vendor registration material. The process can take up to 2 months to have them added)
  - Select the start/end dates- Must be 30 business days out and end date can be up to 1-year from the start date.
  - Enter the cost and any invoices or documentation that shows you are eligible to take the training/exam.
  - Click "Done" and make sure to check your account for updates.
- Payments to Vendors typically happen 3 days before the training will start.
- Soldiers must not pay any costs out of pocket. They will not be reimbursed.

View an approved list of credentials at Army COOL: <u>https://www.cool.osd.army.mil/</u>

View an approved list of training providers: https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program

# **GI Bill Comparison Chart**

https://www.vets.gov/gi-bill-comparison-tool

MGIB-SR (Chapter 1606)	MGIB-AD (chapter 30)	Post 9/11 GI Bill (Chapter 33)
Rates Eff. 01OCT2020	Rates Eff. 01OCT2020	Rates Eff. 01AUG2020
\$397 / month (Full time)	\$2122/ month (Full time)	Pay rate is based on T10 or
\$298 / month (3/4 time)	\$1592 / month (3/4 time)	, AGR service time.*
\$198 / month (1/2 time)	\$1061/ month (1/2 time)	
\$99 / month (< 1/2 time)	\$531 / month (1/4 time or < )	<u>For example:</u>
		18 qualifying months = 70% rate
<b>Qualifications</b>	Qualifications	A) 70% - Tuition and Fees
1) Six year contract or <b>OSA</b>	1) 24 or 36 Month <b>AD</b> service	B) 70% - Housing (=BAH for E-5
2) High School Diploma or	2) \$1,200 paid by SM	w/ dependent rate)
Equivalent	3) Not previously declined	C) \$1,000.00 - Books and
3) IADT Complete (DD Form		Supplies Stipend a year
214)	AGRs are welcome to	
	CONTRIBUTE if eligible	Transferrable to dependents**

\* In support of a contingency operation...i.e. Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, Afghanistan and Noble Eagle, Border Mission, and COVID. (T32 ADOS or T32 ADSW does NOT count as Qualifying Service for NG Members)

\*\* POST 9-11 Transfer will require 4 years of continued service from the date of transfer.

MGIB-SR KICKER		
Rate	Qualifications	
OCS/WOCS/SMP \$350/ mo	<ul> <li>Meet basic MGIB eligibility</li> <li>4) Extend/Reenlist for 6 years</li> </ul>	
Officers Without Degree (OWD) <b>\$200/ mo</b>	5) Critical Unit or MOS*	
Enlisted <b>\$200 or \$350/mo</b>	(All qualifications must be IAW Current Kicker Policy)	

For more information visit: <u>http://www.gibill.va.gov</u> or call **1-888-GIBILL-1** 

Force Readiness Non-Commission Officer is the contact for initiation of the MGIB benefits.

<u>Note</u>: TBD-To Be Determined; AD- Active Duty; AC-Active Component; RC-Reserve Component; IADT-Initial Active Duty for Training; SM- Service Member; OCS-Officer Candidate School; OSA-Officer Service Agreement; IAW- In Accordance With; NPS-Non Prior Service; WOCS- Warrant Officer Candidate School; SMP-Simultaneous Membership Program; LT-Lieutenant; TA- Tuition Assistance; VA-Veterans Administration; MOS-Military Occupational Specialty; MTOE-Modified Table of Organization and Equipment.

# Montgomery GI Bill- Selected Reserve (MGIB-SR) CH1606

https://www.va.gov/education/about-gi-bill-benefits/montgomery-selected-reserve/

### What is it?

The MGIB-SR is a benefit administered by the Department of Veteran's Affairs (DVA) that provides basic educational assistance for traditional/M-day Soldiers actively serving in the Selected Reserve (Reference: Title 10 USC Chapter 1606; DoDI 1322.17).

## How Do I Qualify?

- Sign a six-year enlistment contract or Officer Service Agreement to serve in the ARNG.
- Have a High school diploma or equivalent.
- Complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT) or Basic Officer Leadership Course (BOLC).
- Be actively serving in the ARNG (cannot be in the Inactive National Guard-ING or Individual Ready Reserve-IRR).
- Not be AGR or on Active Duty.
- Not be flagged for unsatisfactory participation.
- Not be using a Dedicated Army National Guard ROTC Scholarship (Ref: Title 10 USC 2107).

### What Do I Get?

- \$397 per month for full-time enrollment (Effective 1 October 2020).
- Payment made directly to the Soldier each month from the DVA.
- In most cases your eligibility begins immediately after you complete IADT/BOLC.
- CANNOT be combined with Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) for the same course.
- May be combined with State Tuition Assistance (Subject to State law/rules).

### How Do I Apply?

- Contact your State Education Office and ask for your Notice of Basic Eligibility (NOBE).
- Submit the Veterans Online Application at: www.va.gov
- Notify the VA Certifying Official at your school so they can certify your enrollment.
- Continue to verify your enrollment each month online at: www.benefits.va.gov/gibill



# Accessing Your Notice of Basic Eligibility (NOBE) for MGIB CH1606

## Method #1

Soldiers or unit admin personnel can check IPERMS. NOBEs should be loaded into IPERMS. This does not always occur immediately after AIT completion. If a NOBE is not found in IPERMS, move on to one of the other methods.

## Method #2

Unit Administrative personnel with access to GIMS can access a NOBE for any of their soldiers by looking in the GI Bill tab of GIMS. Look for a button labeled "Print NOBE" to open the NOBE file. If the status code for Ch. 1606 eligibility is not "BA" and there is no button option to Print NOBE, Then move to Method #3. You can contact our office for more detailed instructions.

### Method #3

Due to various possible factors, a NOBE may not be available from the above methods because the eligibility code may be inaccurate. If Methods #1 and #2 do not work, contact the Education Office. We can look at your record to verify your eligibility status and take any necessary steps to correct an inaccurate code.

It can take several weeks to change a code in the system. Once the code is corrected, the NOBE will be generated and available by Methods #1 and/or #2.

You can contact the TXARNG Education Office by calling 512-782-5515 or email ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil

**Note:** The NOBE form is a document that will show your eligibility for Ch.1606 benefits. It does NOT show that you have been "approved" to begin receiving benefits. The document that shows approval is the Certificate of Eligibility (COE). **You will receive your COE from the VA after you apply for GI Bill benefits.** Most schools will want a copy of both your NOBE and your COE.



# **Montgomery GI Bill "Kicker"**

www.benefits.va.gov/gibill

## What is it?

The Kicker incentive is an additional education payment to attract Soldiers to specific units, skills, or positions to meet and sustain ARNG readiness requirements (Reference: DoDI 1322.17).

## How Do I Qualify?

• Categories:

- Non-prior service applicants (enlisted only); 50 or higher on ASVAB (CAT IIIA or higher), agree to serve in a critical skill/critical unit.
- Prior service applicants (enlisted only); 50 or higher on ASVAB (CAT IIIA or higher), MOS qualified, E-5 or below, and enlist in an MTOE or medical unit.
- Currently serving enlisted Soldiers; served between 3 and 14 years in the ARNG, SFC or below.
- Officer commissioning program; ROTC/SMP, OCS, WOC, must contract prior to commissioning.

#### • Basic Criteria:

- $\circ~$  Be eligible for the MGIB-SR/Chapter 1606 or MGIB-AD/Chapter 30
- Complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT) or Basic Officer Leadership Couse (BOLC).
- Sign a six-year enlistment contract or Officer Service Agreement (OSA) or extend to have six years on their contract and meet all other relevant criteria in the current SRIP policy.

#### • Additional Criteria:

- Have an Honorable discharge from all previous periods of service.
- Be actively serving in the ARNG (cannot be in the Inactive National Guard-ING or Individual Ready Reserve-IRR).
- Not be in Military Technician, AGR, or Active Duty Status.
- Not be flagged for unsatisfactory participation.
- $\circ$  Not on a Dedicated ARNG ROTC Scholarship (Reference: Title 10 USC 2107).

#### • What Do I Get?

• \$350 per month in addition to your basic GI Bill payment (paid directly to the Soldier).

#### • How Do I Apply?

- Submit the Veterans Online Application at: <u>www.va.gov</u>
- o Notify the School Certifying Official at your school so they can certify your enrollment.
- Continue to verify your enrollment each month online at: www.gibill.va.gov/wave

# Post-9/11 GI Bill, Chapter 33

https://www.va.gov/education/about-gi-bill-benefits/post-9-11/

### What is it?

The Post 9/11 GI Bill is an education program for Service Members who serve on active duty after September 10, 2001 and receive an honorable discharge. (Reference: Title 38 USC Chapter 33, DoDI 1341.13)

### How Do I Qualify?

Serve at least 90 days in a period of qualifying active duty on or after September 11, 2001. Qualifying Active Duty service is:

- Service in any active component
- Title 10 AGR or Title 32 AGR
  - Title 10 U.S.C. Sections 688, 12301(a), 12301(d), 12301(g), 12301(h), 12302, 12304, 12304a, or 12304b
  - Title 32 U.S.C., Section 502(f), between 11 Sep 01 31 May 02, in which orders state "In Support of Operation Noble Eagle"
- Southern Border Mission qualifies for Post 9/11 as of FEB 15, 2019
- COVID-19 Mission qualifies for Post 9/11 as of APR 02, 2020
- Serve in a qualifying duty status for 30 continuous days and separate due to a service connected disability or injury.

#### Basic Training and AIT can be added to qualifying time if:

- You have completed 24 months of other qualifying active duty; and
- Your Basic Training and/or IADT occurred on or after September 11, 2001

#### The following service time does NOT qualify for Post-9/11:

- Title 32 ADOS/ADSW/FTNGD
- The Service Obligation from a Service Academy Contract
- The Service Obligation from a ROTC Active Duty Contract (Dedicated Guard only)
- Active Duty used for Active Duty Loan Repayment (Title 10 Sec. 109)
- Active Duty period receiving less than Honorable discharge

## What Do I Get?

#### **Tuition and Fees**

- Up to 100% of in-state tuition if you are attending a public school
- Max payment of \$25,162.14 per year for private or foreign school

#### **Book and Supply Stipend**

• Up to \$1,000 per academic year (\$41.67/credit hour)

Qualifying Service	Percentage Tier
At least 36 cumulative months	100%
At least 30 cumulative months	90%
At least 24 cumulative months	80%
At least 18 cumulative months	70%
At least 6 cumulative months	60%
At least 90 cumulative days	50%

#### **Monthly Housing Allowance**

- Equal to BAH rate E-5 with dependents
- Based on zip code of campus where attending class
- MUST be attending more than half-time to qualify
- If attending only online classes: \$916.50
- AGR and Active Duty Soldiers are NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend

#### **Payment Tiers**

 Payments for all three benefits are prorated based on your percentage tier. The book and supply stipend and MHA are also adjusted based on your enrollment (number of credit hrs).

Qualifying Service	Percentage Tier
At least 36 cumulative months	100%
At least 30 cumulative months	90%
At least 24 cumulative months	80%
At least 18 cumulative months	70%
At least 6 cumulative months	60%
At least 90 cumulative days	50%

## **Timeline/Expiration of Benefits:**

- If your last day of qualifying Active Duty is on or after 1 Jan 13, your benefits never expire
- If your last day of qualifying Active Duty is before 1 Jan 13, your benefits expire 15 years from your last day of Active Duty
  - You can reset your expiration date by completing another qualifying period of service of at least 90 consecutive days
  - Submit VA Form 21-4138 with your new DD214 to the VA Regional Processing Center

## How Do I Apply?



- Submit the Veterans Online Application at: <u>www.va.gov</u>
- Notify the School Certifying
   Official at your school so they
   can certify your enrollment.
- Check Claim Status: 1-888-GIBILL-1

# Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2017 - The "Forever GI Bill"

https://www.benefits.va.gov/GIBILL/ForeverGIBill.asp

#### **Overview**

The Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act, also known as the "Forever GI Bill, was signed into law on August 16, 2017. The law will allow more Veterans and service members to qualify for the GI Bill and more time in which to use it. Some of the changes go into effect immediately, and some go into effect at later dates as listed below.

### Effective 16 August 2017:

- **Removal of Delimiting Date:** Service members whose last day of Active Duty is on or after 1 January 2013 and Fry Scholarship recipients who become eligible on or after 1 January 2013 no longer have a delimiting date (their Post-9/11 GI Bill will never expire).
- **Reserve Education Assistance Program (REAP):** Service Members who lost eligibility for REAP (Ch. 1607) due to the REAP Sunset may now convert unused months to the Post-9/11 GI Bill.
- Independent Study Programs: Service members who are eligible for the Post-9/11 GI Bill can now use their GI Bill benefits for Independent Study programs.

#### Effective 1 January 2018:

- Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA): The MHA for students who use their Post-9/11 GI Bill for the first time on or after 1 January 2018 will increase or decrease with BAH rates.
  - Students who used their Post-9/11 GI Bill BEFORE 1 January 2018 will not have MHA decreased if BAH decreases.

#### Effective 1 August 2018:

- Qualifying Periods of Service: Title 10 Sections 12301(h), 12304a, and 12304b are qualifying service for Post-9/11 GI Bill.
  - 12301(h) service on or after 11 September 2001.
  - 12304a and 12304b service on or after 30 June 2008.
  - Payments for Service and eligibility for TEB will begin 1 August 2018.
- Transfer of Education Benefit (TEB):
  - Service members can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the original dependent dies, even after the service member separates; applies to deaths on/after 1 August 2009.
  - Dependents can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the transferor dies and they have remaining months; applies to deaths on or after 1 August 2009.
- Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA):
  - MHA based on campus where attending.
  - MHA is pro-rated and may be paid for days in a month the service member is not serving on active duty.

## Effective 1 August 2018:

- Purple Heart Recipients: Purple Heart recipients eligible at 100% payment tier.
- Yellow Ribbon: Fry Scholarship and Purple Heart recipients eligible for Yellow Ribbon Program.
- License and Certification: Entitlement charge for License and Certification tests are pro-rated.
- Institution Closures: Service members may recover some benefits when the institution they are attending closes on or after 16 August 2017.
- **Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance:** Students using Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance (Chapter 35) who enroll after 1 August 2018 are limited to 36 months of benefits. Payments under Chapter 35 increase on 1 October 2018.
- Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment: Title 10, Sections 12304a and 12304b are qualifying service for Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Chapter 31).

## Effective 1 August 2019:

- Edith Nourse Rogers STEM Scholarship:
  - Adds up to an additional 9 months of benefits after exhausting Post-9/11.
  - Maximum payment \$30K.
  - Cannot be transferred.

## Effective 1 August 2020:

• Payment Tiers:

0

- o 40% payment tier is eliminated.
- 90 days to 6 months of service eligible for 50% payment tier.
- $\circ~~$  6 months to 18 months of service eligible for 60% payment tier.

## Effective 1 August 2022:

• Yellow Ribbon. Service members on active duty are eligible for Yellow Ribbon.

## **Other Changes:**

- VA High Technology Pilot Program.
- Opportunity to enroll in High Tech programs.
- VA determines eligible skills and training based on employer input.
- Can use Chapters 30, 32, 33, 34, 35, 1606, or 1607.
- VA will use automated and electronic processing as much as possible.
- Work Study program continued.
- Schools must report whether they allow priority enrollment for Veterans
- VA will provide information to schools about all GI Bill programs a Veteran or service member is entitled to. Student may opt out.
- School Certifying Officials must be trained by VA.
- VA will provide counseling on selected campuses.
- Various agencies must provide GI Bill use data reports to Congress.
- Increase in payments to State Approving Agencies.

# Transfer of Education Benefits (TEB) Post-9/11 GI Bill

https://milconnect.dmdc.osd.mil/milconnect/public/faq/Education\_Benefits-How\_to\_Transfer\_Benefits

### What is it?

TEB is an incentive for continued service offered to Service Members who qualify for the Post-9/11 GI Bill. All ARNG Soldiers considering TEB should initiate the TEB process as soon as they meet the requirements (Ref: Title 38 USC Section 3319; DoDI 1341.13).

### How Do I Qualify?

- Qualify for the Post-9/11 GI Bill at any payment tier
- Be currently serving in the Uniformed Services, with at least six years completed
- NOT be flagged for adverse action, APFT/ABCP failure, or as Unsatisfactory Participant
- Agree to a four-year service obligation from the date of your transfer request
- Transfer to an eligible dependent
  - $\circ$  Spouse and/or dependents must be listed under you in DEERS
  - Transfers to children must be completed before each child's 23rd birthday (21st birthday if they aren't enrolled full-time at an Educational Institution)

### What Do I Get?

- Dependent(s) receive the same payment eligibility tier as Soldier
- Spouses:
  - o May use transferred benefits immediately
    - If your last day of qualifying service is before January 1, 2013, your spouse's eligibility ends 15 years from the last day of that qualifying duty
    - If your last day of qualifying service is on or after January 1, 2013, your spouse's eligibility never ends
- The spouse of a Soldier on Active Duty/AGR is NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend
- Children:
  - Cannot use the benefit until transferring Soldier has completed 10 years in the Armed Forces
  - o Is always paid as if Soldier is in a Non-Active Duty Status
  - Can begin using the benefit on their 18th birthday or upon high school graduation, whichever comes first
  - A child's eligibility ends on their 26th birthday unless you specify an earlier end date.
- You can modify and/or revoke months between any dependent you originally transferred months to even after you separate from service
- Important! You must be currently serving to ADD a new dependent

#### Return to Table of Contents

## How Do I Apply?

#### • Step 1: Contact the VA

- Call 1-888-GIBILL-1, ask how many months you have remaining in each GI Bill program.
  - If you are only eligible for one program, subtract those months from 36. This is the number of months you are eligible to transfer.
  - If you are eligible for more than one program, subtract the total months from 48. You may transfer this number of months or 36 months, whichever is fewer.

#### • Step 2: Complete Extension (If required)

- Enlisted Soldiers MUST have an ETS date that is four or more years after the TEB request date. If you do not have four years remaining, you will need to extend before your TEB will be approved.
- $\circ$  Officers' MRD MUST be four or more years after the request date
- IMPORTANT! Your TEB request cannot be approved until the ETS/MRD is updated in GIMS.

#### • Step 3: Complete Application for Transfer

- Log into milConnect <u>https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/milconnect/</u>
- $\circ$   $\;$  Verify your dependents are listed as eligible to receive the transfer.
  - Your dependents will be listed in the List of Family Members chart.
  - If your dependent(s) is under 23 years old and is identified as ineligible, contact your DEERS office to enroll that dependent into DEERS.
- Enter the number of months you wish to transfer to each dependent
- Entering a Transfer End Date is optional, and not recommended. If left blank, the dependent will receive the longest period of eligibility allowed by law.
- $\circ~$  Click the "OK" button and repeat for each dependent.
- Complete the application by reading every statement and selecting EVERY check box. Be sure to click the SUBMIT button.

#### • Step 4: Access your Enterprise Email and follow TEB email instructions

- The ARNG GI Bill Support Team will review your application and send approval instructions to your military email (mail.mil account).
- Once you have met all the requirements, you will receive a "TEB APPROVED" email from the GI Bill Support Team.
- Login to milConnect, review your obligation end date (OED), print your approval form.
- NOTE: IF YOU VOLUNTARILY SEPARATE FROM THE ARNG PRIOR TO COMPLETING YOUR OED, YOUR TEB WILL BE TERMINATED AND ANY FUNDS PAID TO YOUR DEPENDENTS WILL BE RECOUPED!
- Step 5: Dependent Application to VA
  - When ready to attend school, your approved dependent(s) apply for the Post 9/11 GI Bill at: www.va.gov
  - Notify the VA Certifying Official at your school to certify your enrollment.





# How to Apply for GI Bill Benefits

https://www.va.gov/education/how-to-apply/

## Step 1: Apply for your Certificate of Eligibility (CoE)

- Be sure you have all of the required information before you start. You must complete the form in one session there is no option to save and come back later.
- Required information:
  - Applicant's Social Security Number
  - Military history (Service Members only)
  - o Sponsor's Social Security number (Dependents only)
  - o Information about the school you wish to attend
  - o Bank account and direct deposit information
  - o Education history
- Go to www.va.gov and click on "Apply for Education Benefits".
- Click on "Find Your Education Benefits Form".
- Answer the questions in this section by clicking the appropriate bubble until your reach a point where you can select "Apply Now."
  - Section 1: Applicant Information
  - Section 2: Eligibility
    - In general, dependents will select 'Post-9/11'.
    - Service Members select the program you are eligible for and wish to use.
  - Page 3: Service Members Military History
    - If you are currently on Title 32 ADOS, select 'No' for "Are you on active duty now".
    - ROTC Cadets: Confirm whether you scholarship is Section 2107 or Section 2107a. If 2107a, select no for both questions.
    - Student Loan: Do not check this box if your Student Loan Repayment contract was from the Guard/Reserves.
  - Section 5: Education History
  - Section 6: Employment History
  - Section 7: School Selection
  - Section 8: Contact and Direct Deposit Information
  - Section 9: Review information and click "Submit Application".
- Normally, the VA will process your application within 30 days. You will receive a Certificate of
- Eligibility (CoE) in the mail.
  - You can call (888) GIBILL-1 to check the status of an application.
- Register for classes as soon as your school's registration period opens.

- Visit your School Certifying Official (SCO). This is a school employee who typically works in the financial aid, admissions or Veterans affairs office.
  - The SCO will certify your registration. This tells the VA how many hours you are taking and the cost of tuition & fees and reports your rate of pursuit (1/2 time, 3/4 time, full time).



- If a tuition payment is due before you receive your CoE from the VA, your SCO may be able to place your school account on hold to wait for payment from VA. Check with your school's Finance Office for their policies
- When you receive your CoE from the VA, give a copy to your SCO.

## Step 3: Verify Attendance

- While you are in school, you must verify EVERY MONTH with the VA that you are still attending courses to receive your next monthly deposit. (Monthly verification is not required if you are using the Post-9/11 GI Bill.)
- You can complete your monthly verification in one of two ways:
  - o Call 1-877-823-2378
  - Go online at: www.gibill.va.gov/wave and verify attendance through the Web Automated Verification of Enrollment (WAVE).

## Step 4: Next Semester

- Do not repeat the application on va.gov unless changing schools or degree plans.
  - If you changed your school or degree plan, repeat the process in Step 1 and file a Form 22-1995.
- As soon as registration for the next term opens, register for classes early and make another appointment with your SCO.



## **Testing Services - Defense Activity for**

## **Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES)**

http://www.dantes.doded.mil/

#### What Is It?

DANTES provides numerous programs and services to assist service members seeking to further their voluntary education goals and objectives.

## How Do I Qualify?

Be an actively drilling member of the ARNG.

## What Do I Get?

- Free Academic and College Credit Equivalency Exams:
  - General Education Development (GED)
  - Entry level exams to Colleges (ACT, SAT)
    - Free ACT/SAT test prep
    - https://www.eknowledge.com/allAccessLandingPage.php?coupon=FBEC67 159
- Entry level exams to Graduate Schools (GMAT, GRE)
- Teacher Certification Exams (Praxis)
- College credit equivalency exams (CLEP, DSST)
- Tests are administered at National Test Centers (NTCs)
  - Locate a local NTC to schedule CLEP exams at: https://clep.collegeboard.org/test-center-search
  - Locate a local NTC to schedule DSST testing at: http://getcollegecredit.com/institutions/search
  - ACT and SAT Tests are administered free to military personnel at Active Duty Education Centers and some State Education Offices

#### • Free Test and College Prep Materials:

- Online Academic Skills Course (OASC)
- Self-paced and customized based on preassessment, includes quizzes
- College Placement Skills Training (CPST):
- Helps Soldiers prepare for college and build academic skills
- o Available to family members
- Access at: <u>www.nelnetsolutions.com/dantesnet/</u>



# **Army Personnel Testing (APT)**

www.nelnetsolutions.com/dantesnet/

#### What Is APT?

APT encompasses standardized tests used to determine eligibility for specialized training and to support the Army's personnel selection and classification process, including language proficiency testing (Reference: AR 611-5).

#### • How Do I Qualify?

• Be an active drilling member of the Army National Guard (ARNG).

#### • What Tests Can I Take?

- APT offers career-enhancing exam options, such as:
  - Armed Forces Classification Test (AFCT)
  - Selection Instrument Flight Training (SIFT)
  - Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT)
  - Defense Language Aptitude Battery (DLAB)
  - Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI)\*
     \*The OPI is not currently offered at Camp Mabry

#### • What Are The Benefits of These Tests?

- AFCT: Raise GT/Line Scores to Re-class MOS or Qualify for Officer Candidate School.
- SIFT: Qualify for Aviation School.
- DLPT/DLRPT/DLAB/OPI: Qualify for Foreign Language Billets and Proficiency Bonuses.

#### • How Do I Apply?

 Application for APT is through your local State Education Office or Army Education Center.

## NOTES

## Return to Table of Contents

# **CONTACTS & RESOURCES**



#### GET THE FACTS & PAYING FOR COLLEGE

#### **TMD Education & Incentives Office**

2200 W. 35th Street, Bldg 15 Camp Mabry, Austin, TX 78703 Main: (512) 782-5515 Website: https://tmd.texas.gov/money-for-college

Email addresses: Education Benefits (FTA, STRP, GI Bill): ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil

Incentives (SLRP, Bonuses): ng.tx.txarng.mbx.incentives@mail.mil

GoArmyEd Within CONUS: 1-800-817-9990 OCONUS: 800-861-7770 Website: https://www.goarmyed.com/

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Toll-free: 888-GIBILL-1 (888) 442-4551 From Overseas: 001-918-781-5678 Website: http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/

WEAMS Institution Search http://inquiry.vba.va.gov/weamspub/buildSearchInstitutionCri teria.do

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) Main: 1-800-4FED-AID Website: www.fafsa.gov Website: www.studentaid.ed.gov

#### **Texas Veterans Commission**

1700 North Congress, Suite 800 Stephen F. Austin Bldg Austin, TX 78701 Main: (512) 463-5538 Toll-free: 1-877-898-3833 Website: https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood/ Email: hazlewood@tvc.texas.gov

**Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board** 1200 E. Anderson Lane,

Austin, TX 78752 Main: (512)427-6101 Toll-free: 1-811-311-8881 Website: http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/ College Scholarships.org Website: http://www.collegescholarships.org/financial-aid/

#### **Higher Education Resource Center**

100 Dalton Place Way, Suite 105 Knoxville, TN 37912 Toll-free: 1-866-624-5920 or 1-865-657-2171 Website: http://highereducationresourcecenter.com/ Email: support@degreequickly.com

#### Service Members Opportunity Colleges

1307 New York Avenue, NW, 5th Floor Washington, DC 20005 Toll-free: 1-800-368-5622 Website: http://www.soc.aascu.org Email: <u>socmail@aascu.org</u>

#### TESTING

CLEP Exams-College Board Website: http://clep.collegeboard.org/military

#### Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES) 6420 Saufley Field Road Pensacola, FL 32509-5243 Main: 850-452-1111 Website: www.dantes.doded.mil

Peterson's DOD MWR Library 3 Columbia Circle, Suite 205 Albany, NY 12203-5158 Toll-free: 1-609-896-1800 Website: http://www.petersonsdodlibrary.com/

#### **MILITARY TRANSCRIPTS**

Joint Services Transcript (JST) www.jst.doded.mil/smart/signin.do

### FREE TUTORING/ACADEMIC SUPPORT

Tutor.com Toll-free: 1-800-411-1970 Website: <u>http://www.tutor.com/</u>

