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TXARNG Education Benefits

» State Tuition Assistance (State TA)
Successfully Complete Basic Training (BT)

» Hazlewood Act/Hazlewood Legacy
Serve 181 days of qualifying Federal Title 10
Active Duty Service

Receive a DD 214 at time of discharge

» Federal Tuition Assistance Program (FTA)
Successfully complete AIT or BOLC

» Credentialing Assistance Program (CA)
Successfully complete AIT or BOLC

» Montgomery Gl Bill-Selected Reserve CH 1606
Successfully complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT)

» Montgomery Gl Bill-Kicker
Contract-Specific Benefits
(Signed w/enlistment or extension contract)

> Post 9/11 GI BILL CH 33
Serve at least 90 days of qualifying service on/after
Sept 11, 2001

Receive a DD 214 at time of discharge

» Transfer Education Benefits (TEB): Post 9/11 Gl BILL CH 33
Serve 6-years of retirement eligible service
Must agree to serve 4 years from date of TEB request
Effective 11JUL2019: Must not have more than 16 years
of creditable service
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State Tuition Assistance Program (State TA)

https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program

How Do | Qualify?

State benefit for active drilling members in good standing with the Texas Army National

Guard, Texas Air National Guard or Texas State Guard. Members in ADOS, Military Technician or M-
Day status are eligible. AGR Members are not eligible.

Qualifying ranks: all enlisted ranks; Officers 01-05; Warrant Officers W1-W3

Must be enrolled in an academic program of instruction leading to the first certificate,
undergraduate, graduate or professional degree from an accredited Texas college or

university. Second degrees must be progressive and not lateral.

Must have completed Basic Training/BOT/RBOT

Visit https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program for more details

What Do | Get?

From 3-12 credit hours of tuition & mandatory fees per fall and/or spring academic

semesters. Funding not available for summer classes

The standard award is the lower of 6 credits of tuition or $2,250 per academic semester

When funding is available, awards for credits beyond 6 hours may be approved

State TA can be used or “stacked” with other tuition assistance and Gl Bill benefits, but cannot be
used to duplicate or exceed 100% of the cost of tuition and mandatory fees

Available for up to 5 academic years or 10 semesters from the date of the 1st award

How Do | Apply?

Prior to the Beginning of Each Semester for which tuition assistance funds are requested:

Visit https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program for the application form,

Submission Instructions and deadlines.
Email completed application form to: ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil

Award approvals are based partially on the receipt date of the application form. Send in as early as
possible.

AFTER the semester census date, email financial statement and schedule to State TA Office.

After the End of the Semester

Send electronic official transcript (PDF) to State TA Office to verify passing grades.
Average payment time is 8-12 weeks after the end of the semester.

For additional information, please contact our office at: ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil



https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program
https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program
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Hazlewood Act / Hazlewood Legacy Act

https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent
children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at
public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.
The Hazlewood Act is only available for use at a Texas (tax supported) public college or university.

Veteran:
e At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces
o Designated Texas as Home of Record
o orentered the service in Texas
o or was a Texas resident;

e Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a
general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on
the Veteran’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active
Duty (DD Form 214);

e Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);

e Currently reside in Texas;

e Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits
dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester
enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;

e Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;

e Enrollin classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely
on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let
Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and

e Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or
certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate
student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.

Child (Legacy Recipient):

e Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident;

e Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed dependent in the current/previous tax year;

e Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed
(unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and

¢ Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or
certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate
student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.
*If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the
unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.



https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/
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Spouse/Dependent:

Spouses and dependent children of eligible Active Duty, Reserve, and Texas ) T
National Guard who died in the line of duty or as a result of injury or illness T |

directly related to military service, are missing in action, or who became totally ™ ACT
disabled for purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or o
iliness are entitled to each receive a 150 credit hours exemption. | 7

e Be aspouse of a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces or the Texas National
Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally
disabled (100%) as a result of service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at
the 100% rate due to individual unemployability (IU) due to a permanent service connected injury or

illness;

« Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits
dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester
enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;

e Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and

e Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or
certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate
student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement
does not apply to the spouse of MIA, KIA, or service connected deceased Veteran.

Apply:

1. Visit https://www.tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/ to download applicable forms.

2. Gather all the required documents. Submit the completed forms to your school.
3. Contact your school VA Representative, financial aid, or bursar office for guidance.

Hazlewood Checklist

Instructions and Application

Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption TVCEDa
Documentation Checklist b syt

Required for Veteran
Hazlewood Application

[] DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty
DD Form 215, Correction to DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (if necessary)
VA Certificate of Eligibility for I Bill benefits [required if Veteran served on or after 9/11/2001)

Required for Legacy Applicant:
] Hazlewood Application
Veteran's DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty
DD Form 215, Correction to DD 214 Centificate of Release ar Discharge from Active Duty (if necessary)
VA Certificate of Eligibility for GI Bill benefits (required if Veteran served on or after 9/11/2001)
Birth Centificate, or Marriage Certificate, or Adoption Documentation, er IRS Transcript of Tax Return
(https://wwvwsirs.gov/Individ uals get-transcript) from current or previous year indicating dependency of
child, and identification of designee if applicable
Death Certificate for deceased Veteran

Required for Spouse or Child {other than Legacy)
[ Hazlewood Application
DD Form 1300, Report of Casualty if the Veteran died while on active duty
Veteran's DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty
DD Form 215, Correction to DD 214 Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (if necessary)
[ A centificate of Eligibility for GI Bill benefits [required if Veteran served on or after 9/11/2001)
[ Letter from VA indicating the Veteran's death was service-related
VA Rating Decision Letter if the Veteran is disabled
Birth Certificate, or Marriage Certificate, or Adoption Documentation, or IRS Transcript of Tax Return
(https://wwwwirs gow/individusls/get-transcript) from current or previous year indicating dependency of
child, and identification of designee if applicable

Toverify military service prior to January 1, 1950 the following forms are acceptable:
Record/Report of Service: WD AGO 53, WD AGO 53-55, WD AGO 53.5:
Notice/Report of separation: NAVCG- 553, NAVMC 78-PD, NAVPERS-553

The DD Form 214 and other military records may be requested fram the National Archives at the following
website: hitp:/fwww.archives gov/veterans/. A NA Form 13038 may be substituted for a DD Form 214 upon
National Archives verification that the Veteran's DD Form 214 has been lost or destroyed. The Veteran still must
prove home o record or place of entry into active duty as Texas per the pracedures in Block 7 below.

Veterans with qualifying service on or after September 11, 2001, are required to provide a VA Certificate of
Eligibility statement with their application regarding their Post 8/11 Gi Bill eligibility [applies to all applicants,
except as listed below). Legacy recipients where the Veteran's DD Form 214 has a separation date after
September 10, 2001 and prior to August 1, 2009 do not need to submit a VA Certificate of Eligibility if the type of
separation is listed os “Discharge” or “Retirement” {to include those medically retired, temporary or permanent).

Veterans whose DD Form 214 does not indicate a home of recard at time of entry into active duty or the place
of entry into active duty as Texas will be required to provide a Texas high school transcript indicating their
graduation within one year of their enlistment. If the entry date is more than one year after high school
graduation, the Veteran will be required to provide one of the fellowing: lease or martgage documentation, pay
stubs, W2s, or any other documentation the school may require, verifying Texas residency in accordance with
Subchapter B, Chapter 54, Texas Education Code

Phone: 1677 858-3623 or 5127463 168 | TT¥/TO0: Dal 731 | Fan
ant

Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application

e
Supporting Documentation Instructions Eff.June 2016

Page 101

To apply for the Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption, you must submit the following documents

to your college or university:

1. The Hazlewood Exemption Application (completed and signed|. For a tuterial on completing the application, visit:
hittps//www tve texas gou/Harlewood-Act aspx

2. Report of Separation or Discharge, DD Form 214 (and DD Form 215 if the DD Form 214 has been amended) - To

verify the Veterar's place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, length of service, and

dates of senvice. The copy you provide to your institution must be legible and contain the information listed abave. A
DD Ferm 214 may be obtained from the National Archives:
https://www archives gov/veterans/military-service-records/

If the Veteran was discharged prior to January 1, 1950 previously used separation documents may be used. If the
Veteran's DD Form 214 was destroved in the National Archives fire in 1973 or is otherwise unavailable, then the
following documents may be used:

*  NAForm 13038, Certification of Military Service

*  Documentation from the Matianal Archives that the Veteran's NA Form 13038 was sent in ieu of the DD Form
214 due to the DD Form 214 not being on file

*  Documentation that Veteran met the requirements of Subchapter B, Chapter 54, Texas Education Cade for
resident tuition on the date of entry into active duty indicated an the DD Form 214

3. Centificate of Eligiblity for federal GI Bill® benef
To verify eligibility for the Veteran’s, or dependes
obtained by completing an application at https://w

federal education benefits. Certificates of eligibility may be
ets.gov/education/apply/

* Ifthe Veteran's final discharge is prior to 9/11/2001 the certificate of eligibilty is not required.

4. If the Veteran died while in service: Report of Casualty, Form DD Form 1300 — T verify the Veteran's place of entry
or home of record, and that his/her death was service related.

5. If the Veteran is deceased {not service connected) - Death Certificate for deceased Veteran for use in a Legacy
transfer

6. If the Veteran is totally disabled or individually to military injury: You

must have a current (within one year) disability ratings decision letter from the VA indicating that rating.
7. 1f you are not the Veteran, Relationship Documentation — Submit one or more of the fallowing documents to verify
your relationship to the eligible Veteran.
= Birth Certificate, or Marriage Certificate, or Adoption Papers, or Recent IRS Tax Transcript:
hittpe:/fwww.irs gov/individuals/get-transcript.

8. Veterans must reside in the state of Texas during the term that the exemption will be used.
«  Children and spouse of eligible Veterans must be classified a5 a Texas resident by their institution.

9. Hazlewood Online Database Registration - To comply with the Federal Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)
requirements, all applicants (Veteran and dependents] must register into the Hatlewood online database to use the 6
Hazlewood Exemption at httns://hazlewood tve texas gov/students/.

Prione: 1.077-996.3053 o $12/463.3168 | TTY/TDD: Dal 711 633952 | Mk ECCSUE 1S 0 | el Wl e RT3 500
an Eguat Opparunty Emloyer
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Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) Program

https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-eligibility

What Is It?

FTA is financial assistance provided for voluntary off-duty education programs in support of a Soldier’s
professional and personal self-development goals. (Reference: AR 621-5, Army Continuing Education System)

How Do | Qualify?

Tier 1:

e Be currently serving in the ARNG and completed either Advanced Individual Training (AIT), Warrant
Officer Basic Course (WOBC), or Basic Officer Leaders Course (BOLC).

e Have not attained a bachelor's degree and wish to pursue an undergraduate academic certificate,
associate’s or bachelor's degree or

e Have attained a bachelor’s degree and wish to pursue a graduate academic certificate or

e Have attained a bachelor's degree without the use of FTA and wish to pursue a master’s degree.

Tier 2:

e Be currently serving in the ARNG and completed either Advanced Leader’s Course (ALC), Warrant
Officer Advanced Course (WOAC), Captain’s Career Course (CCC), or equivalent.

e Have attained a bachelor's degree with the use of FTA and wish to pursue a master’s degree.

Service Requirement/Obligation:
e Have an ETS or MRD after completion of FTA funded course(s).

e Officers and Commissioned Warrant Officers are subject to a four year Reserve Duty Service
Obligation (RDSO) OR a two year Active Duty Service Obligation (ADSO).

Additional Criteria:

e The college is regionally or nationally accredited AND is a participant in GoArmyEd (GAE).

e The funded course(s) meets a requirement listed in your personalized degree plan provided by the
school (this can include prerequisite courses).

e You maintain an undergraduate GPA of 2.0 or a graduate GPA of 3.0 for FTA-funded courses.

e You must submit your FTA request at least 5 business days prior to course start date.

e NOTE! FTA is NOT authorized simultaneously with Chapter 1606/MGIB-SR or Chapter 1607/REAP for
the SAME course (Ref. DODI 1322.25).



https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-eligibility
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What Do | Get? %] Go ARMY ED

()

e FTA will pay up to $250 per semester hour and up to 16 SHs per fiscal yr.
e Lifetime limit of 130 undergraduate semester hours and 39 graduate semester hours.
o Upto 21 additional semester hours for a Transition Certificate not previously received within
the past five years. Must apply within three years of anticipated separation.
e FTA will pay toward one credential at each of the following levels:
o Associate Degree, Bachelor Degree, Master Degree, Undergraduate/Graduate Certificate
o First Professional degrees are NOT eligible (i.e. doctorate degrees, Juris doctorates).

Programs NOT Eligible For FTA

e Courses leading to a credential that are lower or lateral to the highest credential you have
already earned.
o Example: if you have a bachelor’s degree (even if you came in the ARNG with one),
you cannot use FTA to pursue a second bachelor’s or associate’s degree.
e Any program that bundles tuition and fees together into a lump sum charge.
e Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or courses that do not meet degree requirement.

How Do | Apply?

e Create a user account in GoArmyEd.com:

o Go to www.goarmyed.com and establish a GAE Federal Tuition Assistance account by
clicking on the “New User” button and entering all required data.

Tips to remember when applying:

e Apply for FTA up to 60 days prior to the class start date, but no later than 5 business days
prior to the class start date (all FTA MUST be approved prior to the class start date).

e You must submit an FTA request for each individual course that you want FTA to fund.

e If your school charges by quarter hour or clock hour, GAE will automatically convert them
into semester hours on the FTA request.

e If your school’s courses are not listed in GAE (i.e. you have to physically enter your courses
into each FTA request), you must upload the following documentation into your GAE
“Education Record” eFile:

o Cost Verification Statement: individualized document such as a billing
statement/invoice specific that breaks out the cost of tuition and fees separately.

o Class Schedule: individualized document that shows all courses to include class name,
start date, end date, course number, and number of credit hours.

o All of these documents MUST have your name and the name of the school on them,
and cannot be in an editable format.

e After you complete six semester hours of FTA-funded coursework, you must provide an
individualized degree plan/student agreement to GAE.

e New FTA users and anyone who changes their degree plan are required to complete VIA



https://www.goarmyed.com/
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% | 6o ARMY ED

—(US.ARMY]

TXARNG Federal Tuition Assistance Program

Application Checklist

Review the Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) benefit to determine eligibility.

1 O

Activate/reactivate your GoArmyEd (GAE) account: www.goarmyed.com

We recommend the preferred email you access regularly.
TXARNG Select your GoArmyEd Home School and Degree Plan.

Education Center Change your GoArmyEd Home School and Degree Plan if applicable.

(512) 782-5515
Resolve your GoArmyEd account hold (if applicable).

Upload your Student Agreement/Degree Plan in Course Planner if required.

Associate,
Bachelor, &
Master’s
Degree

Resolve your rejected course planner (if applicable).

Obtain your itemized invoice & detailed class schedule from school.
Note: Some schools build the invoice and schedule in GoArmyEd.

Request FTA up to 60-days before class starts; recommend NLT (5) days.
Certificate Upload invoice & schedule to TA Request if prompted to do so.
Programs Resolve your rejected TA request (if applicable).

&
AMEDD
Prerequisites

I N N

[]

Print & save your approved TA request; ensure your school has a copy.

Quick Tips:
e If you drop/withdraw from class at the school; drop/withdraw in GAE.
e Request Military Withdrawal waiver if applicable: mission/emergency.

$4000 e Review Credentialing Assistance (CA) Program on the CA web page.

(For Tuition) e Seek assistance if needed; we are here to support you with your goals.
Per Fiscal Year

FTA Web Page: https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-efigibility

CA Web Page: https:https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program



https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-eligibility
https://www.goarmyed.com/docs/pdf/Tuition_Assistance_Eligiblity_Process.pdf
http://www.goarmyed.com/
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/60442/soldier-how-do-i-change-my-home-school-or-degree-plan
https://www.goarmyed.com/docs/pdf/Viewing_and_Resolving_Holds.pdf.pdf
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/63836/soldier-when-should-i-ask-my-school-for-a-student-agreementdocumented-degree-plan
https://www.goarmyed.com/docs/pdf/Soldier_Using_Course_Planner.pdf.pdf
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/63717/soldier-how-do-i-resolve-a-rejected-course-in-the-course-planner
https://sa.goarmyed.com/saprod/Cost_Verification_Examples.pdf
https://www.goarmyed.com/docs/pdf/How_to_Request_TA_Using_Request_Form.pdf
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/63759/soldier-how-far-in-advance-can-i-request-tuition-assistance-to-enroll-in-a-class
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/63891/soldier-how-far-in-advance-should-my-tuition-assistance-ta-request-form-be-submitted
https://sa.goarmyed.com/saprod/Cost_Verification_Examples.pdf
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/63892/soldier-how-do-i-resubmit-a-rejected-ta-request-form
https://www.goarmyed.com/docs/pdf/Print_an_Approved_TA_Request.pdf
http://help.goarmyed.com/article/23928/60366/dropping-class-for-military-reason-or-emergency
https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program
https://tmd.texas.gov/federal-tuition-assistance-eligibility
https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program
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Credentialing Assistance (CA) Program

https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program

What is it? Effective 6 September 2018

e The Army Credentialing Assistance (CA) program provides funding for courses and exams leading to an
industry-recognized academic or vocational credential.

e The CA Program launched with a Limited User Test (LUT) that offers preselected credentialing
programs (listed below).

e Eligible Soldiers may request CA. The classes and/or exams must be completed no later than 30
September 2019.

e Soldiers must have an approved Individual Development Plan (IDP) in Army Career Tracker (ACT). List
the desired credential on your IDP; tutorials on CA webpage.
e The CA program offers three credentialing options:

o Credentials related to an MOS, as long as they are not an MOS requirement
o Credentials related to an academic degree or certificate
o Credentials aligned to a civilian career field

How Do | Qualify?
e Soldiers may begin work on their first credential pathway upon successful completion of Advanced
Individual Training, Warrant Officer Basic Course, or Basic Officer Leaders Course.

e Soldiers establish eligibility for a second credential pathway upon successful completion of Advanced

Leaders Course, Warrant Officer Advanced Course, Captains Career Course, or equivalent.
e The Limited User Test (LUT) is restricted to:
o Regular Army (Active Duty) Soldiers stationed on Fort Hood
o Active Guard/Reserve (AGR) Soldiers stationed in Texas (Title 10 & 32)

o Texas Army National Guard (TXARNG) and TX USAR Soldiers in actively drilling status with
satisfactory participant designation - must reside in Texas.

o Participating Soldiers must meet basic Federal TA eligibility.

o The CA Program is projected to expand Army-wide in late 2019.

I PERSONAL

oy

= TRAINER

| =



https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program
mailto:https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program
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s PERSONAL

TRAINER

What Do | Get?

e Soldiers may use both Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) and Army Credentialing Assistance (CA);
however, the combined usage shall not exceed $4000 per FY.

e CA will pay credentialing expenses for classroom, hands-on, online/blended training (and
associated materials) to include: manuals, study guides, textbooks, processing fees, test fees,
related fees for continuing education requirements, and recertification of credentials.

Who is ineligible for the CA Limited User Test?

e Regular Army Soldiers assigned to installations other than Fort Hood

e AGR Soldiers stationed in states other than Texas

e USAR and ARNG Soldiers assigned to states other than Texas

e Texas USAR and ARNG Soldiers who reside outside of Texas

e Contracted Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) scholarship cadets (receiving either tuition and
fees or room and board incentive)

e ROTC Cadets contracted under the Green to Gold ROTC program

e Soldiers flagged under provisions of AR 600-8-2

How Do | Apply?
e Create a user account at www.goarmyed.com
e When the GoArmyEd VIA decision tool launches:

o Select your college and degree program to pursue an academic program.

o Select “Credential School” and “Credentialing Pathway” degree program to pursue a
credential program.

e To request funding for a credentialing course / exam:

o Download and complete a CA application and SOU at link below.
https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program

o Submit an email request to schedule the required education counseling session
(phone/person) to ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil

o After completing the counseling session, an Army Education Counselor will assist you with
submitting your credentialing assistance application packet.

o Monitor your e-mail for correspondence related to your CA request status.

Approved List of Credentials on CA Web Page: https://tmd.texas.gov/credentialing-assistance-program

11



https://tmd.texas.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/education/2018/sept/26sept/how-to-select-new-ca-degree-and-school-in-via-goarmyed.pdf
mailto:ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil
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Gl Bill Comparison Chart

https://www.vets.gov/gi-bill-comparison-tool

MGIB-SR
(Chapter 1606)

Rates Eff. 010CT2018

$384 / month (Full time)
$287 / month (3/4 time)
$191 / month (1/2 time)
$ 96 / month (< 1/2 time)

Qualifications

1) Six year contract or OSA

2) High School Diploma or
Equivalent

3) IADT Complete (DD Form
214)

MGIB-AD
(Chapter 30)

Rates Eff. 010CT2017

$1,928 / month (Full time)
$1,446 / month (3/4 time)

$ 964 / month (1/2 time)

S 482 / month (1/4 time or less)

1) 24 or 36 Month AD service
2) $1,200 paid by SM
3) Not previously declined

AGRs are welcome to
CONTRIBUTE if eligible

Post 9/11 Gl Bill
(Chapter 33)

Rates Eff. 01AUG2018

Pay rate is based on qualifying
service time.*

For example:
18 qualifying months = 70% rate

A) 70% - Tuition and Fees
B) 70% - Housing (=BAH for E-5
w/ dependent rate)
C) $700 - Books and Supplies
Stipend a year

Transferrable to dependents**

** POST 9-11 Transfer will require 4 years of continued service from the date of transfer.

* Title 10 service in support of a contingency operation...i.e. Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, Afghanistan and Noble
Eagle; T32 AGR Service (T32 ADOS or T32 ADSW does NOT count as Qualifying Service for NG Members)

MGIB-SR KICKER

Rate Qualifications

OCS/WOCS/SMP

$350/ mo

$200 or $350/mo

Enlisted

- Meet MGIB basic eligibility
- 6 year service obligation

o Extend/Reenlist if necessary
- Critical Unit or MOS*

(Allqualifications mustbe AW
Current Kicker Policy)

For more information visit: http://www.gibill.va.gov or call 1-888-GIBILL-1

Force Readiness Non-Commission Officer is the contact for initiation of the MGIB benefits.

Note: TBD-To Be Determined; AD- Active Duty; AC-Active Component; RC-Reserve Component; IADT-Initial
Active Duty for Training; SM- Service Member; OCS-Officer Candidate School; OSA-Officer Service
Agreement; IAW- In Accordance With; NPS-Non Prior Service; WOCS- Warrant Officer Candidate School;
SMP-Simultaneous Membership Program; LT-Lieutenant; TA- Tuition Assistance; VA-Veterans
Administration; MOS-Military Occupational Specialty; MTOE-Modified Table of Organization and Equipment.
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Montgomery Gl Bill- Selected Reserve
(MGIB-SR) Chapter 1606

https://www.vets.gov/education/gi-bill/montgomery-selected-reserve/

What is it?

The MGIB-SR is a benefit administered by the Department of Veteran’s Affairs (DVA) that provides basic
educational assistance for traditional/M-day Soldiers actively serving in the Selected Reserve (Reference: Title
10 USC Chapter 1606; DoDI 1322.17).

How Do | Qualify?
e Sign a six-year enlistment contract or Officer Service Agreement to serve in the ARNG.
e Have a High school diploma or equivalent.
e Complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT) or Basic Officer Leadership Course (BOLC).
e Be actively serving in the ARNG (cannot be in the Inactive National Guard-ING or Individual Ready
Reserve-IRR).
e Remain in good standing with assigned military unit.
e Not be AGR or on Active Duty.
e Not be using a Dedicated Army National Guard ROTC Scholarship (Ref: Title 10 USC 2107).

What Do | Get?
e 5384 per month for full-time enrollment (Effective 1 October 2018).
e Payment made directly to the Soldier each month from the DVA.
e In most cases your eligibility begins immediately after you complete IADT/BOLC.
e CANNOT be combined with Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) for the same course.
e May be combined with State Tuition Assistance (Subject to State law/rules).

How Do | Apply?

e Submit the Veterans Online Application at:
www.vets.gov

e Get a copy of your NOBE (see next page).

¢ Notify the VA Certifying Official at your
school so they can certify your enrollment.

e Continue to verify your enrollment each
month online at:
www.benefits.va.gov/gibill
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Accessing Your Notice of Basic Eligibility
(NOBE) for MGIB CH. 1606

Method #1

Soldiers can check their own IPERMS file through AKO. NOBEs should be loaded into IPERMS
after eligibility is established. This does not always occur immediately after AIT completion. If a
NOBE is not found in IPERMS, move on to one of the other methods.

Method #2

Unit Administrative personnel with access to IPERMS or GIMS can access a NOBE for any of their
soldiers. In GIMS it can be found by looking in the GI Bill tab of GIMS. Look for a button labeled
“Print NOBE” to open the NOBE file. If the status code for Ch. 1606 eligibility is not “BA” and
there is no button option to Print NOBE, Then move to Method #3. You can contact our office for
more detailed instructions.

Method #3

Due to various possible factors, a NOBE may not be available from the above methods because
the eligibility code may be inaccurate. If Methods #1 and #2 do not work, contact the Education
Office. We can look at your record to verify your eligibility status and take any necessary steps to
correct an inaccurate code.

It can take several weeks to change a code in the system. Once the code is corrected, the NOBE
will be generated and available by Methods #1 and/or #2.

You can contact the TXARNG Education Office by calling 512-782-5515 or email
ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil

Note: The NOBE form is a document that will show your eligibility for Ch.1606 benefits. It does
NOT show that you have been “approved” to begin receiving benefits. The document that shows
approval is the Certificate of Eligibility (COE). You will receive your COE from the VA after you
apply for Gl Bill benefits. Most schools will want a copy of both your NOBE and your COE.
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Montgomery Gl Bill “Kicker”

www.benefits.va.gov/gibill

What is it?
The Kicker incentive is an additional education payment to attract Soldiers to specific units, skills,
or positions to meet and sustain ARNG readiness requirements (Reference: DoDI 1322.17).

How Do | Qualify?

e Categories:

o Non-prior service applicants (enlisted only); 50 or higher on ASVAB (CAT IIIA or
higher), agree to serve in a critical skill/critical unit.

o Prior service applicants (enlisted only); 50 or higher on ASVAB (CAT IlIA or higher),
MOS qualified, E-5 or below, and enlist in an MTOE or medical unit.

o Currently serving enlisted Soldiers; served between 3 and 14 years in the ARNG, SFC
or below.

o Officer commissioning program; ROTC/SMP, OCS, WOC, must contract prior to
commissioning.

e Basic Criteria:

o Be eligible for the MGIB-SR/Chapter 1606 or MGIB-AD/Chapter 30

o Complete Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT) or Basic Officer Leadership Couse
(BOLC).

o Sign a six-year enlistment contract or Officer Service Agreement (OSA) or extend to
have six years on their contract and meet all other relevant criteria in the current SRIP
policy.

e Additional Criteria:

o Have an Honorable discharge from all previous periods of service.

o Be actively serving in the ARNG (cannot be in the Inactive National Guard-ING or
Individual Ready Reserve-IRR).

o Not be in Military Technician, AGR, or Active Duty Status.

o Not be flagged for unsatisfactory participation.

o Not be on a Dedicated ARNG ROTC Scholarship (Reference: Title 10 USC 2107).

e What Do | Get?
o $200 or $350 per month in addition to your basic Gl Bill payment.
e How Do | Apply?

o Submit the Veterans Online Application at: www.vets.gov

o Notify the School Certifying Official at your school so they can certify your enrollment.

o Continue to verify your enrollment each month online at: www.gibill.va.gov/wave
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Post-9/11 Gl Bill, Chapter 33

https://www.vets.gov/education/gi-bill/post-9-11/

What is it?

The Post 9/11 GI Bill is an education program for Service Members who serve on active duty after
September 10, 2001 and receive an honorable discharge. (Reference: Title 38 USC Chapter 33,
DoDI 1341.13)

How Do | Qualify?
Serve at least 90 days in a period of qualifying active duty on or after
September 11, 2001. Qualifying Active Duty service is:
e Service in any active component
e Title 10 U.S.C. Sections 688, 12301(a), 12301(d), 12301(g), 12301(h), 12302, 12304,
e 123044, or 12304b
e Title 10 AGR or Title 32 AGR
e Title 32 U.S.C., Section 502(f), between 11 Sep 01 — 31 May 02, in which orders state “In
e Support of Operation Noble Eagle”
e Serve in a qualifying duty status for 30 continuous days and separate due to a service
connected disability or injury.

Basic Training and AIT can be added to qualifying time if:
e You have completed 24 months of other qualifying active duty; and
e Your Basic Training and/or IADT occurred on or after September 11, 2001

The following service time does NOT qualify for Post-9/11:
e Title 32 ADOS/ADSW/FTNGD (National Guard only)
e The Service Obligation time from a Service Academy Contract
e The Service Obligation time from an ROTC Active Duty Contract (Dedicated Guard only)
e Active Duty used for Active Duty Loan Repayment (Title 10 Sec. 109)
e Any Active Duty period receiving less than “Honorable” discharge

What Do | Get? Qualifying Service Percentage
Tuition and Fees _ Tier
e Up to 100% of in-state tuition if you are At least 36 cumulative months | 100%

At least 30 cumulative months | 90%
At least 24 cumulative months | 80%
At least 18 cumulative months | 70%
At least 12 cumulative months | 60%
At least 6 cumulative months 50%
Book and Supply Stipend At least 90 cumulative days 40%

e Upto $1,000 per academic year

(S41.67/credit hour)

attending a public school
e Max payment of $23,671 per year for
private or foreign school
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Monthly Housing Allowance
e Equal to BAH rate - E-5 with dependents
e Based on zip code of campus where attending class
e MUST be attending more than half-time to qualify
e If attending only online classes: $825
e AGR and Active Duty Soldiers are NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend

. alifying Service Percentage
Payment Tiers Qualifying Servi r-,-ier g

e Payments for all three benefits are pro- At least 36 cumulative months
At least 30 cumulative months 90%
At least 24 cumulative months | 80%

rated based on your percentage tier. The

book and supply stipend and MHA are At least 18 cumulative months | 70%
also adjusted based on your enrollment At least 12 cumulative months | 60%
(number of credit hrs). At least 6 cumulative months 50%

At least 90 cumulative days 40%

Timeline/Expiration of Benefits:

e If your last day of qualifying Active Duty is on or after 1 Jan 13, your benefits never expire
e If your last day of qualifying Active Duty is before 1 Jan 13, your benefits expire 15 years
from your last day of Active Duty
o You can reset your expiration date by completing another qualifying period of
service of at least 90 consecutive days
o Submit VA Form 21-4138 with your new DD214 to the VA Regional Processing
Center

How Do | Apply?

> Submit the Veterans Online
Application at: www.vets.gov

> Notify the School Certifying
Official at your school so they
can certify your enrollment.

> Check Claim Status: 1-888-GIBILL-1
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Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational
Assistance Act of 2017 - The “Forever Gl Bill”

https://www.benefits.va.gov/GIBILL/ForeverGIBill.asp

Overview

The Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act, also known as the “Forever Gl Bill,
was signed into law on August 16, 2017. The law will allow more Veterans and service members
to qualify for the GI Bill and more time in which to use it. Some of the changes go into effect
immediately, and some go into effect at later dates as listed below.

Effective 16 August 2017:

e Removal of Delimiting Date: Service members whose last day of Active Duty is on or after
1 January 2013 and Fry Scholarship recipients who become eligible on or after 1 January
2013 no longer have a delimiting date (their Post-9/11 Gl Bill will never expire).

e Reserve Education Assistance Program (REAP): Service Members who lost eligibility for
REAP (Ch. 1607) due to the REAP Sunset may now convert unused months to the Post-
9/11 Gl Bill.

¢ Independent Study Programs: Service members who are eligible for the Post-9/11 Gl Bill
can now use their Gl Bill benefits for Independent Study programs.

Effective 1 January 2018:

e Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA): The MHA for students who use their Post-9/11 Gl
Bill for the first time on or after 1 January 2018 will increase or decrease with BAH rates.
o Students who used their Post-9/11 GI Bill BEFORE 1 January 2018 will not have
MHA decreased if BAH decreases.

Effective 1 August 2018:
e Qualifying Periods of Service: Title 10 Sections 12301(h), 12304a, and 12304b are
qualifying service for Post-9/11 Gl Bill.
o 12301(h) service on or after 11 September 2001.
o 12304a and 12304b service on or after 30 June 2008.
o Payments for Service and eligibility for TEB will begin 1 August 2018.
e Transfer of Education Benefit (TEB):
o Service members can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the original dependent dies,
even after the service member separates; applies to deaths on/after 1 August
20009.
o Dependents can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the transferor dies and they have
remaining months; applies to deaths on or after 1 August 2009.
e Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA):
o MHA based on campus where attending.
o MHA is pro-rated and may be paid for days in a month the service member is not
serving on active duty.
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Effective 1 August 2018:

e Purple Heart Recipients: Purple Heart recipients eligible at 100% payment tier.

e Yellow Ribbon: Fry Scholarship and Purple Heart recipients eligible for Yellow
Ribbon Program.

e License and Certification: Entitlement charge for License and Certification tests
are pro-rated.

e Institution Closures: Service members may recover some benefits when the institution
they are attending closes on or after 16 August 2017.

e Survivors’ and Dependents’ Educational Assistance: Students using Survivors’ and Dependents’
Educational Assistance (Chapter 35) who enroll after 1 August 2018 are limited to 36 months of
benefits. Payments under Chapter 35 increase on 1 October 2018.

e Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment: Title 10, Sections 12304a and 12304b are qualifying
service for Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Chapter 31).

U
Gl Bill.

Effective 1 August 2019:
e Edith Nourse Rogers STEM Scholarship:
o Adds up to an additional 9 months of benefits after exhausting Post-9/11.
o Maximum payment $30K.
o Cannot be transferred.
O

Effective 1 August 2020:
e Payment Tiers:
o 40% payment tier is eliminated.
o 90 days to 6 months of service eligible for 50% payment tier.
o 6 months to 18 months of service eligible for 60% payment tier.

Effective 1 August 2022:

¢ Yellow Ribbon. Service members on active duty are eligible for Yellow Ribbon.

Other Changes:

e VA High Technology Pilot Program.

e Opportunity to enroll in High Tech programs.

e VA determines eligible skills and training based on employer input.

e Can use Chapters 30, 32, 33, 34, 35, 1606, or 1607.

e VA will use automated and electronic processing as much as possible.

e Work Study program continued.

e Schools must report whether they allow priority enrollment for Veterans

e VA will provide information to schools about all Gl Bill programs a Veteran or service
member is entitled to. Student may opt out.

e School Certifying Officials must be trained by VA.

e VA will provide counseling on selected campuses.

e Various agencies must provide Gl Bill use data reports to Congress.

e Increase in payments to State Approving Agencies.

19




Return to Table of Contents

Transfer of Education Benefits (TEB)
Post-9/11 Gl Bill

https://milconnect.dmdc.osd.mil/milconnect/public/fag/Education Benefits-How to Transfer Benefits

What is it?

TEB is an incentive for continued service offered to Service Members who qualify for the Post-
9/11 Gl Bill. All ARNG Soldiers considering TEB should initiate the TEB process as soon as they
meet the requirements (Ref: Title 38 USC Section 3319; DoDI 1341.13).

How Do | Qualify?

e Qualify for the Post-9/11 Gl Bill at any payment tier
e Be currently serving in the Uniformed Services, with at least six years completed
e Have completed fewer than 16 years of service (effective 12 July 2019)
e NOT be flagged for adverse action, APFT/ABCP failure, or as Unsatisfactory Participant
e Agree to a four-year service obligation from the date of your transfer request
e Transfer to an eligible dependent
o Spouse and/or dependents must be listed under you in DEERS
o Transfers to children must be completed before each child’s 23rd birthday (21st
birthday if they aren’t enrolled full-time at an Educational Institution)

What Do | Get?

e Dependent(s) receive the same payment eligibility tier as Soldier
e Spouses:
o May use transferred benefits immediately
= |f your last day of qualifying service is before January 1, 2013, your
spouse’s eligibility ends 15 years from the last day of that qualifying duty
= |f your last day of qualifying service is on or after January 1, 2013, your
spouse’s eligibility never ends
e The spouse of a Soldier on Active Duty/AGR is NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend
e Children:
o Cannot use the benefit until transferring Soldier has completed 10 years in the
Armed Forces
o Is always paid as if Soldier is in a Non-Active Duty Status
o Can begin using the benefit on their 18th birthday or upon high school graduation,
whichever comes first
o A child’s eligibility ends on their 26th birthday unless you specify an earlier end
date.
e You can modify and/or revoke months between any dependent you originally transferred
months to — even after you separate from service
e Important! You must be currently serving to ADD a new dependent
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How Do | Apply?

e Step 1: Contact the VA

o Call 1-888-GIBILL-1, ask how many months you have remaining in each
Gl Bill program. Gl BI”

= |f you are only eligible for one program, subtract those months
from 36. This is the number of months you are eligible to transfer.
= |f you are eligible for more than one program, subtract the total months
from 48. You may transfer this number of months or 36 months, whichever
is fewer.
e Step 2: Complete Extension (If required)

o Enlisted Soldiers MUST have an ETS date that is four or more years after the TEB
request date. If you do not have four years remaining, you will need to extend
before your TEB will be approved.

o Officers’” MRD MUST be four or more years after the request date

o IMPORTANT! Your TEB request cannot be approved until the ETS/MRD is updated
in GIMS.

e Step 3: Complete Application for Transfer 1 ﬂ mi lcon neCt

o Loginto milConnect
https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/milconnect/
o Verify your dependents are listed as eligible to receive the transfer.
= Your dependents will be listed in the List of Family Members chart.
= |f your dependent(s) is under 23 years old and is identified as ineligible,
contact your DEERS office to enroll that dependent into DEERS.
o Enter the number of months you wish to transfer to each dependent
o Entering a Transfer End Date is optional, and not recommended. If left blank, the
dependent will receive the longest period of eligibility allowed by law.
o Click the “OK” button and repeat for each dependent.
o Complete the application by reading every statement and selecting EVERY check
box. Be sure to click the SUBMIT button.

w Serving those who serve our country.

e Step 4: Access your Enterprise Email and follow TEB email instructions

o The ARNG Gl Bill Support Team will review your application and send approval
instructions to your military email (mail.mil account).

o Once you have met all the requirements, you will receive a “TEB APPROVED” email
from the Gl Bill Support Team.

o Login to milConnect, review your obligation end date (OED), print your approval
form.

o NOTE: IF YOU VOLUNTARILY SEPARATE FROM THE ARNG PRIOR TO COMPLETING
YOUR OED, YOUR TEB WILL BE TERMINATED AND ANY FUNDS PAID TO YOUR
DEPENDENTS WILL BE RECOUPED!

e Step 5: Dependent Application to VA
o When ready to attend school, your approved dependent(s) apply for the Post 9/11
Gl Bill at: www.vets.gov
o Notify the VA Certifying Official at your school to certify your enrollment.
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How to Apply for Gl Bill Benefits

https://www.vets.gov/education/apply/#modal

Step 1: Apply for your Certificate of Eligibility (CoE)

e Be sure you have all of the required information before you start. You must complete the
form in one session — there is no option to save and come back later.

e Required information:

Applicant’s Social Security Number

Military history (Service Members only)

Sponsor’s Social Security number (Dependents only)

Information about the school you wish to attend

o O O O

Bank account and direct deposit information
o Education history
e Gotowww.vets.gov and click on “Apply for Education Benefits”.
e Click on “Find Your Education Benefits Form”.
e Answer the questions in this section by clicking the appropriate bubble until your reach a
point where you can select “Apply Now.”
o Section 1: Applicant Information
o Section 2: Eligibility
= |n general, dependents will select ‘Post-9/11".
= Service Members select the program you are eligible for and wish to use.
o Page 3: Service Members - Military History
= |f you are currently on Title 32 ADOS, select ‘No’ for “Are you on active
duty now”.
=  ROTC Cadets: Confirm whether your scholarship is Section 2107 or Section
2107a. If 21073, select no for both questions.
= Student Loan: Do not check this box if your Student Loan Repayment
contract was from the Guard/Reserves.
Section 5: Education History
Section 6: Employment History
Section 7: School Selection
Section 8: Contact and Direct Deposit Information

© O O O O

Section 9: Review information and click “Submit Application”.

e Normally, the VA will process your application within 30 days. You will receive a
Certificate of Eligibility (CoE) in the mail.
o You can call (888) GIBILL-1 to check the status of an application.
e Register for classes as soon as your school’s registration period opens.
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e Visit your School Certifying Official (SCO). This is a school employee who
typically works in the financial aid, admissions or Veterans affairs office.

o The SCO will certify your registration. This tells the VA how many
hours you are taking and the cost of tuition & fees and reports your
rate of pursuit (1/2 time, 3/4 time, full time).

o If a tuition payment is due before you receive your CoE from the
VA, your SCO may be able to place your school account on hold to wait for
payment from VA. Check with your school’s Finance Office for their policies

e When you receive your CoE from the VA, give a copy to your SCO.

Gl Bill.

Step 3: Verify Attendance

e While you are in school, you must verify EVERY MONTH with the VA that you are
still attending courses to receive your next monthly deposit. (Monthly verification is not
required if you are using the Post-9/11 Gl Bill.)
e You can complete your monthly verification in one of two ways:
o Call 1-877-823-2378
o Go online at: www.gibill.va.gov/wave and verify attendance through the Web
Automated Verification of Enrollment (WAVE).

Step 4: Next Semester

e Do not repeat the application on vets.gov unless changing schools or degree plans.
o If you changed your school or degree plan, repeat the process in Step 1 and file a
Form 22-1995.
e Assoon as registration for the next term opens, register for classes early and make
another appointment with your SCO.
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Testing Services - Defense Activity for
Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES)

http://www.dantes.doded.mil/

What Is It?

DANTES provides numerous programs and services to assist service members seeking to further
their voluntary education goals and objectives.

How Do | Qualify?
Be an actively drilling member of the ARNG.

What Do | Get?

e Free Academic and College Credit Equivalency Exams:
o General Education Development (GED)
o Entry level exams to Colleges (ACT, SAT)
=  Free ACT/SAT test prep
= https://www.eknowledge.com/allAccessLandingPage.php?coupon=FBEC67159

e Entry level exams to Graduate Schools (GMAT, GRE)
e Teacher Certification Exams (Praxis)
e College credit equivalency exams (CLEP, DSST)
e Tests are administered at National Test Centers (NTCs)
o Locate a local NTC to schedule CLEP exams at:
https://clep.collegeboard.org/test-center-search
o Locate a local NTC to schedule DSST testing at:
http://getcollegecredit.com/institutions/search
o ACT and SAT Tests are administered free to military personnel at Active Duty
Education Centers and some State Education Offices

e Free Test and College Prep Materials:
o Online Academic Skills Course (OASC)
o Self-paced and customized based on pre-

DoD VolEd

PROGRAMS

JoNALe0
assessment, includes quizzes

College Placement Skills Training (CPST):

Helps Soldiers prepare for college and build
academic skills

o Available to family members
o Access at: www.nelnetsolutions.com/dantesnet/
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Army Personnel Testing (APT)

https://tmd.texas.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/education/2018/oct/oct-30/fy19-afct-and-dlpt.pdf

What Is APT?

APT encompasses standardized tests used to determine eligibility for specialized training and to

support the Army's personnel selection and classification process, including language proficiency
testing (Reference: AR 611-5).

How Do | Qualify?
e Be an active drilling member of the Army National Guard (ARNG).

What Tests Can | Take?

e APT offers career-enhancing exam options, such as:

Armed Forces Classification Test (AFCT)

Selection Instrument Flight Training (SIFT)*

Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT)

Defense Language Reading Proficiency Test (DLRPT)*
Defense Language Aptitude Battery (DLAB)

Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI)*

* These exams are currently NOT available on Camp Mabry.

O 0O O O O O

What Are The Benefits of These Tests?

e AFCT: Raise GT/Line Scores to Re-class MOS or Qualify for Officer Candidate School.
e SIFT: Qualify for Aviation School.

e DLPT/DLRPT/DLAB/OPI: Qualify for Foreign Language Billets and Proficiency Bonuses.

How Do | Apply?

e Application for APT is through your local State Education Office or Army Education Center.
e Click the page below for instructions on how to apply for TXARNG APT.

nate - TXARNG FY19 Testing Schedule and Instructions

Armed Forces Classification Test (AFCT) Examination Dates and

esting and 4187 temolate.**
Defense Language Aptitude Battery (DLAB) and Defense Language Proficiency
Test (DLPT) Examination Dates and Information

FY 2019 DLAB/DLPT Testing Dates
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CONTACTS & RESOURCES i

GET THE FACTS &
PAYING FOR COLLEGE

TMD Education & Incentives Office

2200 W. 35th Street, Bldg 15

Camp Mabry, Austin, TX 78703

Main: (512) 782-5515

Website: https://tmd.texas.gov/money-for-college

Email addresses:
Education Benefits (FTA, State TA, Gl Bill):
ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil

Incentives (SLRP, Bonuses):
Ng.tx.txarng.mbx.incentives@mail.mil

GoArmyEd

Within CONUS: 1-800-817-9990
OCONUS: 800-861-7770

Website: https://www.goarmyed.com/

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Toll-free: 888-GIBILL-1 (888) 442-4551

From Overseas: 001-918-781-5678
Website: http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/

WEAMS Institution Search
http://inquiry.vba.va.gov/weamspub/buildSearchinstitutionCri
teria.do

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
Main: 1-800-4FED-AID

Website: www.fafsa.gov

Website: www.studentaid.ed.gov

Texas Veterans Commission

1700 North Congress, Suite 800

Stephen F. Austin Bldg

Austin, TX 78701

Main: (512) 463-5538

Toll-free: 1-877-898-3833

Website: http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx
Email: Education@tvc.texas.gov

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
1200 E. Anderson Lane,

Austin, TX 78752

Main: (512)427-6101

Toll-free: 1-811-311-8881

Website: http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/

College Scholarships.org
Website: http://www.collegescholarships.org/financial-aid/

Fisher House Foundation Scholarship Fund
Website: http://www.militaryscholar.org/

Higher Education Resource Center

100 Dalton Place Way, Suite 105

Knoxville, TN 37912

Toll-free: 1-866-624-5920 or 1-865-657-2171
Website: http://highereducationresourcecenter.com/
Email: support@degreequickly.com

Service Members Opportunity Colleges
1307 New York Avenue, NW, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Toll-free: 1-800-368-5622

Website: http://www.soc.aascu.org
Email: socmail@aascu.org

TESTING

CLEP Exams-College Board
Website: http://clep.collegeboard.org/military

Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education
Support (DANTES)

6420 Saufley Field Road

Pensacola, FL 32509-5243

Main: 850-452-1111

Website: www.dantes.doded.mil

Peterson’s DOD MWR Library

3 Columbia Circle, Suite 205

Albany, NY 12203-5158

Toll-free: 1-609-896-1800

Website: http://www.petersonsdodlibrary.com/

MILITARY TRANSCRIPTS

Joint Services Transcript (JST)
www.jst.doded.mil/smart/signin.do

FREE TUTORING/ACADEMIC SUPPORT

Tutor.com
Toll-free: 1-800-411-1970
Website: htto://www.tutor.com/



https://tmd.texas.gov/money-for-college
mailto:ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil
mailto:Education@tvc.texas.gov
http://www.collegescholarships.org/financial-aid/
mailto:socmail@aascu.org
http://www.petersonsdodlibrary.com/
http://www.tutor.com/
https://tmd.texas.gov/money-for-college
https://www.facebook.com/TexasArmyNationalGuardEducation/inbox/?mailbox_id=268156416644&selected_item_id=10156012433371645
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Download a digital copy of this handbook at:

https://tmd.texas.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/edu
cation/2018/sept/04sept/fy-19-ed-booklet.pdf

Request a digital copy of this handbook at:
ng.tx.txarng.mbx.education@mail.mil
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