

## YOUR EDUCATION BENEFITS AT-A-GLANCE

С	onnect with us: 512-782-5515 ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil htt		on-office@mail.mil https://tmd.texas.gov/educa	ation-recruitment FB: https://www.faceboo	k.com/TexasArmyNationalGuardEducation		
PROGRAM		GRAM	WHAT IS IT?	WHO IS ELIGIBLE?	WHAT DOES IT COVER?	CONTACT	
Federal Tuition Assistance		Assistance (FTA)	<ul> <li>Federal financial assistance to help with the cost of voluntary of duty higher education programs.</li> <li>Can be used at a regionally or nationally accredited college or university.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>All AGR &amp; actively drilling members of the TXARNG.</li> <li>Eligibility begins on 1 year anniversary of completion of AIT, OCS, or BOLC.</li> <li>Do not have ETS or MRD prior to completion of course.</li> <li>Officers andd Warrant Officers are subject to 4 yr Reserve Duty Service Obligation or 2 yr Active Duty Service Obligation</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Pays for up to 16 semester hrs of tuition per fiscal year (Oct 1-Sept 30).</li> <li>\$250 per semester credit hr;</li> <li>Up to 130 hrs for undergraduate studies; 39 hrs for graduate studies.</li> <li>Pursuing 1st certificate, undergraduate or graduate degree. (No lateral or lower degrees.)</li> </ul>	(512) 782-1016 GAE Helpdesk CONUS: 1-800-817-9990 Apply online: https://www.goarmyed.com	
	State Tuition	Assistance	<ul> <li>A State benefit that helps pay some tuition &amp; mandatory fees at any Texas public or private college/university.</li> <li>Intended for pursuit of certificate, first undergraduate and/or graduate degrees. Spring &amp; Fall only.</li> <li>Funding is not guaranteed, based on funding availability.</li> </ul>	•All actively drilling members of the TXARNG, TXANG & State Guard. •AGR's are not eligible. •Must complete Basic Training prior to applying. •Attending a Texas College or University. •For-profit schools are not eligible.	<ul> <li>Based on funding availability, pays from 3 to 12 credit hrs in tuition &amp;mandatory fees per semester at in-state rates.</li> <li>Pursuing 1st certificate, undergraduate or graduate degree.</li> <li>For up to 5 yrs or 10 academic semesters, whichever occurs first.</li> </ul>	(512) 782-5270 (512) 782-5864 Apply online: https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance- program	
	Hazlewood	Act	•A State benefit which exempts tuition & some fees for qualified Veterans/spouses/children at Texas public (state supported) colleges/universities.	•Meet TX residency requirements. •Served more than 181 days on T10 Active Duty Service, excluding training. (DD214) •Received honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions.	•Exempts tuition & some fees for qualified classes at Texas public colleges or universities. •Up to 150 semester credit hrs. •Unused hours can be transferred to eligible dependent children under the Legacy Act.	(512) 782-1435 (512) 782-1450 Apply online: http://www.tvc.state.tx.us	
BENEFITS	2		<ul> <li>"VA provides education benefits through various GI Bill chapters.</li> <li>Benefits can be used for traditional college classes, vocational training, correspondence courses, apprenticeships, on-the-job training &amp; flight training.</li> <li>Payment cannot be received for more than one program or chapter at a time.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Drilling Army or Air Guardsmen.</li> <li>6 year service contract (6yr OSA for Officers).</li> <li>Completed IADT (AIT or BOLC).</li> <li>Have a High School Diploma or GED.</li> </ul>	•\$375 a month for full-time institutional education. •Will be prorated if less than full-time.	(512) 782-1435 (512) 782-1450 Apply online: https://www.vets.gov/education/apply	
RII BFNI		Active Duty	<ul><li>all chapters.</li><li>•36 full benefit months from any single chapter</li></ul>	Service Members of Regular Active Duty component or Active Guard/Reserve (AGR)     Requires AD or AGR service, >24 months minimum; >36 months for full benefit         •\$1200 contribution required.     }	•Up to \$1,928 per month for full-time institutional education. •Benefits must be used within 10 years from the date of your last discharge or release from active duty. •Will be prorated if less than full-time.		
5			<ul> <li>Must be currently serving to initiate a transfer of benefits.</li> <li>Separated Members can adjust previously transferred</li> </ul>	•SM's who served at least 90 consecutive days on full time Title 10 AD or T32 AGR*, after 9/11/01, •or discharged honorably for service connected disabiity after serving 30 consecutive days. •Pay rate based on cumulative qualifying service	Can pay up to 100% of the following: •in-state tuition & fees (\$22,805/yr max). •\$1000/yr stipend for books & supplies. •monthly housing allowance (based on BAH E-5 w/dependents; or national average for fully online programs, \$805.50).		
	Tooting	Gunsal	•Military •APT testing: AFCT (ASVAB), DLAB, DLPT. •DANTES: CLEP, DSST, ACT, SAT, GRE and GMAT.	•All military service members & their dependents. (Dependents are not eligible for all tests at all locations)	<ul> <li>In-house testing at no cost or for reimbursement to the SM (depending on the test &amp; testing center).</li> <li>Dependents can test at non-military sites: National Testing Centers (Not all exams are available).</li> </ul>	(512) 782-1435 (512) 782-1450	





# When can I use my Education Benefits?

### In order of service requirements:

### State Tuition Assistance (a.k.a. STRP)

• Eligible <u>AFTER Basic Training</u> (BT)

### Montgomery GI Bill-Selected Reserve- CH 1606

• Eligible <u>AFTER Initial Active Duty for Training</u> (IADT)

### Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA)

• Eligible Upon <u>Completing 1 Year of Service AFTER AIT, OCS or BOLC</u> (Use whichever one comes first if a soldier completes more than one of these)

### Post 9/11 GI BILL CH 33

- Eligible <u>AFTER completing 90 days of qualifying Title 10 Active Duty Service on or</u> <u>after Sept 11, 2001</u>
- Received a DD 214 at time of discharge

### Hazlewood Act/Hazlewood Legacy

- Eligible AFTER completing 181 days of qualifying Title 10 Active Duty Service
- Received a DD 214 at time of discharge

### **Montgomery GI Bill-Kicker**

• Contract-Specific Benefits (Signed along w/enlistment or extension contract)

For More Information

Contact your State Education Office at: 512-782-5515 ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil



## **State Tuition Assistance Program**

(a.k.a. STRP)

### How Do I Qualify?

- State benefit for active drilling members in good standing with the Texas Army National Guard, Texas Air National Guard or Texas State Guard (ADOS, Military Technician, M-Day are eligible). AGR not eligible due to other federal and state benefits earned.
- Qualifying ranks: all enlisted ranks; Officers O1-O5; Warrant Officers WO1-CW3
- Must be enrolled in an academic program of instruction leading to the first certificate, undergraduate, graduate or professional degree from an accredited Texas college or university. Second degrees must be progressive and not lateral.
- Must have completed Basic Training/BOT/RBOT
- Visit https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program for more details

### What Do I Get?

- From 3-12 credit hours of tuition & mandatory fees per fall and/or spring academic semesters. Funding not available for summer classes
- The standard award is the lower of 6 credits of tuition or \$2,250 per academic semester
- When funding is available, awards for credits beyond 6 hours may be approved
- State TA can be used or "stacked" with other tuition assistance and GI Bills, but cannot be used to duplicate benefits or exceed 100% of the cost of tuition and mandatory fees
- Available for up to 5 years or 10 academic semesters from the date of the 1<sup>st</sup> award

### How Do I Apply?

At the **Beginning of Each Semester** for which tuition assistance funds are requested:

- Visit <u>https://tmd.texas.gov/state-tuition-assistance-program</u> for the application form, checklist of required documents, deadlines and other instructions.
- Email completed application to: <u>ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil</u>
- Award approvals are based partially on date of receipt of application. Send in as early as possible.
- AFTER the school add/drop period, email financial statement and schedule to State TA Office.

At the End of the Semester

- Send electronic official transcript (PDF) to State TA Office to verify passing grades.
- Average payment time is 8-12 weeks after the end of the semester.

For additional information, please contact our office at: ng.tx.txarng.mbx.trp@mail.mil



## **GI Bill Comparison Sheet**

MGIB-SR (Chapter 1606)	MGIB-AD (chapter 30)	Post 9/11 GI Bill (Chapter 33)
*effective 10CT2017	*effective 1OCT2017	<sup>*</sup> FY 18 rates
\$375 / month (Full time) \$281 / month (3/4 time) \$187 / month (1/2 time) Qualifications	\$1,928 / month (Full time) \$1,446 / month (3/4 time) \$964 / month (1/2 time) <u>Qualifications</u>	Pay rate is based on T10 or AGR service time.* <u>For example:</u> <u>18 qualifying months = pay</u> <u>rate of 70%</u>
<ol> <li>Six year contract or <b>OSA</b></li> <li>High School Diploma or Equivalent</li> <li><b>IADT</b> Complete (DD Form 214)</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>24 Month <b>AD</b> service</li> <li>\$1,200 paid by SM</li> <li>Not previously declined</li> <li>AGRs are welcome to CONTRIBUTE if eligible</li> </ol>	70% - Tuition and Fees 70% - BAH (E-5 w/ dependent rate) \$1,000.00 - Books and Supplies Stipend a year <u>Transferrable to dependents</u> **

\* In support of a contingency operation...i.e. Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, Afghanistan and Noble Eagle. (T32 ADOS or T32 ADSW does NOT count as Qualifying Service)

\*\* POST 9-11 Transfer will require 4 years of continued service from the date of transfer.

For more information visit: <u>http://www.gibill.va.gov</u> or call **1-888-GIBILL-1** 

MGIB-SR KICKER				
Rate	Qualifications			
OCS/WOCS/SMP/COLLEGE FIRST \$350/ mo	<ul> <li>Meet basic MGIB eligibility</li> <li>Extend/Reenlist for 6 years</li> </ul>			
Officers Without Degree (OWD) <b>\$200/ mo</b>	- Critical Unit or MOS*			
Enlisted <b>\$200/mo</b>	(All qualifications must be IAW Current Kicker Policy)			

#### Force Readiness Non-Commission Officer is the contact for initiation of the MGIB benefits.

**Note:** TBD-To Be Determined; AD- Active Duty; AC-Active Component; RC-Reserve Component; IADT-Initial Active Duty for Training; SM-Service Member; OCS-Officer Candidate School; OSA-Officer Service Agreement; IAW- In Accordance With; NPS-Non Prior Service; WOCS-Warrant Officer Candidate School; SMP-Simultaneous Membership Program; LT-Lieutenant; TA- Tuition Assistance; VA-Veterans Administration; MOS-Military Occupational Specialty; MTOE-Modified Table of Organization and Equipment.



## Montgomery GI Bill - Selected Reserve (MGIB-SR) Chapter 1606

### How Do I Qualify?

- Sign a six-year service contract or Officer Service Agreement in the Reserve Component on or after 1 July 1985
- > Complete a High school diploma or equivalent
- > Complete IADT or Officer Branch Qualification

### When Can I Use it?

- In most cases benefit eligibility begins once you complete IADT
- Continue serving in an active drilling status
- Not be AGR or on Active Duty
- Not be flagged for AWOL
- > Not be using a Dedicated Army National Guard ROTC Scholarship
- > Not be using Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) for the same classes

### What Do I Get?

- > \$369 per month for full-time enrollment. Direct deposit payment per month.
- > Amount varies based on number of classes enrolled.

### How Do I Apply?

- ✓ Access your Notice of Basic Eligibility (NOBE). See next page for instructions.
- ✓ See page 16 on "How To Apply For GI Bill Benefits."

For More Information Visit www.benefits.va.gov/gibill or Contact your State Education Office at: 512-782-5515 ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil





## Accessing Your Notice of Basic Eligibility (NOBE) For MGIB Ch.1606

#### Method #1

Soldiers or unit admin personnel can check IPERMS. NOBEs should be loaded into IPERMS. Because of various factors, a NOBE may or may not be found in IPERMS. If it is not found, move on to one of the other methods.

#### Method #2

Army National Guard Soldier Step by Step Guide to download your own NOBE:

Step 1 - Login

- Open internet browser and go to: <u>https://minuteman.ngb.army.mil/benefits</u>
- Login with CAC
- Manual login is NOT allowed

#### Step 2 - Link to the webpage

• Under the Montgomery GI Bill section, click on the link for the GI Bill Home Page

#### Step 3 - Open NOBE document

- If you are eligible for Ch1606 GI Bill, then you will see the brown button to access your NOBE.
- Click on the button to open your NOBE. You can then print or save to a file on your computer.

• If you do not see this button, then you are not showing as eligible in the system. You can contact the TXARNG Education Office to find out why you are not eligible at 512-782-5515 or ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil

### Method #3

Unit Admin personnel with access to GIMS can access a NOBE for any of their soldiers by looking in the GI Bill tab of GIMS.





## Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA)

### How Do I Qualify?

- Currently serving in the Army National Guard, and
  - Have completed at least one year of service after your AIT/BOLC graduation date
  - ✓ Do not have an ETS or MRD prior to completion of course(s)
- Service Obligation
  - ✓ Officers and Warrant Officers are subject to a four year Reserve Duty Service Obligation (RDSO) OR two year Active Duty Service Obligation (ADSO)

### What Do I Get?

- FTA will pay up to \$250 per semester hour up to 16 SHs per fiscal year
- Lifetime limit of 130 Undergraduate semester hours
- Lifetime limit of 39 Graduate semester hours
- FTA may pay towards the cost of tuition ONLY IF:

-The college/university is regionally or nationally accredited AND is a GoArmyEd participant

-The funded course(s) meets a requirement in your documented degree plan from the school (this can include prerequisite courses)

- Maintain an undergraduate GPA of 2.0 for FTA-funded courses
- Maintain a graduate GPA of 3.0 for FTA-funded courses
- Is NOT used in conjunction with Chapter 1606 MGIB-SR
- FTA may pay toward one credential at each of the following levels:
  - Undergraduate level certificate/certification
  - Associate's Degree
  - Bachelor's Degree
  - Graduate level certificate/certification
  - -Must NOT have already earned a Master Degree to be eligible
  - -Exceptions: Initial state teacher certifications, Transitioning Soldiers, Chaplain Certification, or pre-requisites for the IPAP program may be eligible after receiving a Master's Degree
  - -Master's Degree

-First Professional Degrees NOT eligible (i.e. PH.D., J.D., etc.)

-If you have used any FTA for a Bachelor's Degree (even 1 credit hour) you must complete ten years of service prior to using FTA for a Master's Degree

#### Programs NOT Eligible for FTA

- Courses leading to a credential that is lower or lateral to the highest credential you have already been awarded. Example: if you have a Bachelor's Degree (even if you came in the Guard with one), you cannot use TA to pursue a second Bachelor's or an Associate's Degree
- Any program that bundles tuition and fees together into a lump sum
- Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or courses that do not meet degree requirement

#### How Do I Apply?

✓ Create a GoArmyEd Account

- Go to **www.goarmyed.com** and establish a GoArmyEd Tuition Assistance account, by clicking on "New User" button and entering in all required data

✓ Once you have a GAE account, you can begin requesting FTA, a few tips to remember:

- You can apply for FTA up to 60 days prior to the start of your courses and must be APPROVED prior to course start date. We recommend signing up as early as possible as funding is based upon availability.

 You will submit a TA request for each individual course for which you want FTA to pay

-If your school goes by quarter hour or clock hour, GoArmyEd will automatically convert them into semester hours on the application

- If your school has not been fully integrated into GoArmyEd (i.e. you have to physically enter your courses into each FTA request) then you will need to provide the following documentation, uploaded into your Education Record eFile:

-Cost Verification Statement: document such as a billing statement/invoice specific to you that breaks out the cost of tuition separately -Class Schedule: document that shows all of the courses with their name, start date, end date, course number, and number of credit hours

- ✓ All of these documents MUST have your name on them and the name of the school on them and cannot be in an editable format
- ✓ After you complete six semester hours of FTA-funded coursework, you will need to provide a documented degree plan/student agreement to GoArmyEd.
- This document should list the courses required for completion of your degree, as well as the existing credits already applied toward your degree.







### How Do I Qualify?

- ✓ Be eligible for either Chapter 1606 or Chapter 30
- ✓ Agree to serve in a critical skill/critical unit or enter an officer commissioning program
- ✓ Enlisted must sign a six year reserve service contract on or after 1 July 1985
- ✓ Complete IADT or Officer Branch Qualification
- ✓ Not be on Military Technician, AGR, or Active Duty Status
- ✓ Not be flagged for AWOLs
- ✓ Not be using a Dedicated Army National Guard ROTC Scholarship

### What Do I Get?

- > \$200 per month for 3 year Enlistment/Reenlistment Bonus or Officer Without Degree
- > \$350 per month for commissioning programs or 6 year Enlistment/Reenlistment Bonus

### How Do I Apply?

- ✓ Contact your State Education Office to validate eligibility.
- ✓ See page 14 on How-to-Apply for Benefits





## Post-9/11 GI Bill, Chapter 33

#### How Do I Qualify?

- ✓ Serve at least 90 days in a period of qualifying active duty on or after Sep 11, 2001. Qualifying Active Duty service is:
  - Service in any active component
  - Title 10 U.S.C., Sections 672(d), 688, 12301(a), 12301(d), 12301(g), 12302, 12304
  - o Title 32 AGR
  - Title 32 U.S.C., Section 502(f), in which orders state "In Support of Operation Noble Eagle" between 11 Sep 01 - 31 May 02
  - Serve in a qualifying duty status for more than 30 days and separate due to a service-connected disability or injury.
- ✓ Basic Training and AIT can be added to established qualifying time if:
  - You have already completed 24 months of qualifying active duty time; and
  - Your Basic Training and/or AIT occurred on or after 9/11/2001
- ✓ The following service time does NOT qualify for Ch 33:
  - Title 32 ADOS/ADSW (National Guard Service)
  - Title 10 Service under a U.S.C. not listed above
  - Service Academy Contract Period
  - ROTC Active Duty Contract Period
  - o Active Duty used for Active Duty Loan Repayment
  - o Active Duty period receiving less than Honorable discharge
- ✓ You have 15 years from the last day of qualifying active duty time to use this benefit (*This no longer applies to all Service Members. See page 12 for new rules.*)
  - Your 15 year window can be reset if you complete a new period of qualifying time by submitting your information to the VA
  - Submit a VA form 21-4138 with your new DD 214 to your VA Regional Processing Center

#### What Do I Get?

Qualifying Service	Percentage Tier
At least 36 cumulative months	100%
At least 30 cumulative months	90%
At least 24 cumulative months	80%
At least 18 cumulative months	<b>70%</b>
At least 12 cumulative months	<b>60%</b>
At least 6 cumulative months	<b>50%</b>
At least 90 cumulative days	40%

#### Tuition and Fees

- Up to 100% of in-state tuition if you are attending a public school
- Max payment of \$22,805/yr for private or foreign school (FY 18)

#### Book and Supply Stipend (MUST be attending above ½ time to qualify)

- Up to \$1,000 per academic year (\$41.67/credit hour)
- Pay rate percentage is applied to this maximum amount

Monthly Housing Stipend:

- Equivalent to BAH for E-5 with dependents
- Based on zip code of school
- If attending only online classes, the set amount for FY 17 is \$840.
- Prorated by rate of pursuit and term start and end dates
- o AGR/Active Duty Soldiers are NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend

**Important!** Payments for all three benefits are pro-rated based on your percentage tier. The Book and Supply Stipend and Monthly Housing Allowance are further adjusted based on your enrollment (number of credit hours).

### How Do I Apply?

✓ See page 16 on "How To Apply For GI Bill Benefits."



## Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2017 The "Forever GI Bill"



#### **Overview**

The Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act, also known as the "Forever GI Bill," was signed into law on August 16, 2017. The law will allow more Veterans and service members to qualify for the GI Bill and more time in which to use it. Some of the changes go into effect immediately, and some go into effect at later dates as listed below.

### Effective 16 August 2017:

- <u>Removal of Delimiting Date</u>. Service members whose last day of Active Duty is on or after 1 January 2013 and Fry Scholarship recipients who become eligible on or after 1 January 2013 no longer have a delimiting date (their Post-9/11 GI Bill will never expire).
- <u>Reserve Education Assistance Program (REAP)</u>. Service Members who lost eligibility for REAP (Ch. 1607) due to the REAP Sunset may now convert unused months to the Post-9/11 GI Bill.
- Independent Study Programs. Service members who are eligible for the Post9/11 GI Bill can now use their GI Bill benefits for Independent Study programs.

### Effective 1 January 2018:

- Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA). The MHA for students who use their Post-9/11 GI Bill for the first time on or after 1 January 2018 will increase or decrease with BAH rates.
  - Students who used their Post-9/11 GI Bill BEFORE 1 January 2018 will not have MHA decreased if BAH decreases.

### Effective 1 August 2018:

- Qualifying Periods of Service. Title 10 Sections 12301(h), 12304a, and 12304b are qualifying service for Post-9/11 GI Bill.
  - 12301(h) service on or after 11 September 2001.
  - $_{\odot}$  12304a and 12304b service on or after 30 June 2008.
  - Payments for Service and eligibility for TEB will begin 1 August 2018.
- > Transfer of Education Benefit (TEB).
  - Service members can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the original dependent dies, even after the service member separates; applies to deaths on/after 1 August 2009.
  - Dependents can re-transfer Post-9/11 benefits if the transferor dies and they have remaining months; applies to deaths on or after 1 August 2009.
- Monthly Housing Allowance (MHA).
  - $\circ$   $\,$  MHA based on campus where attending.
  - MHA is pro-rated and may be paid for days in a month the service member is not serving on active duty.
- > <u>Purple Heart Recipients</u>. Purple Heart recipients eligible at 100% payment tier.
- > <u>Yellow Ribbon</u>. Fry Scholarship and Purple Heart recipients eligible for Yellow Ribbon Program.
- License and Certification. Entitlement charge for License and Certification tests are pro-rated. <u>Institution Closures</u>. Service members may recover some benefits when the institution they are attending closes on or after 16 August 2017.

### Effective 1 August 2018: (continued)

- Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance. Students using Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance (Chapter 35) who enroll after 1 August 2018 are limited to 36 months of benefits. Payments under Chapter 35 increase on 1 October 2018.
- Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment. Title 10, Sections 12304a and 12304b are qualifying service for Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Chapter 31).

### Effective 1 August 2019:

- Edith Nourse Rogers STEM Scholarship.
  - Adds up to an additional 9 months of benefits after exhausting Post-9/11.
  - Maximum payment \$30K.
  - Cannot be transferred.

#### Effective 1 August 2020:

- > Payment Tiers.
  - 40% payment tier is eliminated.
  - $\circ~$  90 days to 6 months of service eligible for 50% payment tier.
  - $_{\odot}$   $\,$  6 months to 18 months of service eligible for 60% payment tier.

#### Effective 1 August 2022:

> <u>Yellow Ribbon</u>. Service members on active duty are eligible for Yellow Ribbon.

#### **Other Changes:**

- > VA High Technology Pilot Program.
  - Opportunity to enroll in High Tech programs.
  - VA determines eligible skills and training based on employer input.
  - Can use Chapters 30, 32, 33, 34, 35, 1606, or 1607.
- > VA will use automated and electronic processing as much as possible.
- > Work Study program continued.
- > Schools must report whether they allow priority enrollment for Veterans
- VA will provide information to schools about all GI Bill programs a Veteran or service member is entitled to. Student may opt out.
- > School Certifying Officials must be trained by VA.
- > VA will provide counseling on selected campuses.
- > Various agencies must provide GI Bill use data reports to Congress.
- > Increase in payments to State Approving Agencies.

### For More Information:

- Visit <u>www.benefits.va.gov/gibill</u>
- > Contact your State Education Office
- > Contact the ARNG Education Support Center at:

Toll Free: (866) 628-5999 ♦ arng.gsc@mail.mil ♦ nationalguard.com/education





## Transfer of Education Benefits (TEB) Post-9/11 GI Bill

### How Do I Qualify?

- > Qualify for the Post-9/11 GI Bill at any payment tier
- > Be currently serving in the Armed Forces with at least six years completed
- > NOT be flagged for adverse action, APFT/ABCP failure, or as an Unsatisfactory Participant
- > Agree to a four-year service obligation
- Spouse and/or dependents must be listed under you in DEERS
- > Transfers to children must be completed before the child's 23<sup>rd</sup> birthday
- > You must be currently serving to ADD a new dependent to the transfer request

### What Do I Get?

- Dependent(s) receive the same tier payment as Soldier
- > Spouse is subject to the same rules as the transferring Soldier
  - Spouse's eligibility ends 15 years from your last day of qualifying time
  - Spouse of a Soldier on Active Duty/AGR is NOT eligible for the Housing Stipend
- > Children:
  - Cannot use the benefit until you have completed 10 years in the Armed Forces
  - Is always paid as if you are in a Non-Active Duty Status
  - Can begin using the benefit on their 18th birthday or upon high school graduation, whichever comes first
- A child's eligibility ends on their 26th birthday unless you specify an earlier end date. You can modify and/or revoke months between any dependent you originally transferred months to even after you separate from service.

#### How Do I Submit a Request to Transfer Education Benefits (TEB)? Step 1: Contact the VA

✓ Call 1-800-GIBILL-1 and ask the VA rep how many months you have remaining in each GI Bill program

- ✓ If you are only eligible for one program, subtract those months from 36. This is the number of months you are eligible to transfer.
- ✓ If you are eligible for more than one program, subtract the total months from 48. You may transfer this number of months or 36 months, whichever is less.

#### Step 2: Complete Application for Transfer

- ✓ Complete online application at https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/milconnect/
- ✓ Verify your dependents are listed as eligible to receive the transfer
  - Your dependents will be listed in the List of Family Members chart. Dependents with a blue YES on the far right of the chart are eligible to receive the transfer.
  - If your dependent(s) is under 23 years old and has a blue N/A instead of a blue YES, contact your DEERS office to enroll that dependent into DEERS.
  - o Click on the blue YES associated with the dependent you wish to transfer to.
  - Enter the number of months you wish to transfer to that dependent
  - OPTIONAL: Enter a Transfer End Date. If left blank, the dependent will receive the longest period of eligibility allowed by law.
  - Click the OK button.
  - Repeat for each dependent you wish to transfer months to.
- ✓ Complete the application by selecting EVERY check box and then click SUBMIT.

#### Step 3: Complete Extension (If required)

- ✓ If you do not have 4 years remaining on your contract from the date you complete the TEB application, you will need to extend. See your unit Retention Officer to execute an extension. Have your DA Form 4836 (Oath of Extension of Enlistment or Reenlistment) uploaded into and iPERMS by your unit.
- ✓ Have your unit update your SIDPERS record.
- ✓ The GI Bill Support Team will NOT approve any transfer requests until they can verify that the DA 4836 is in IPERMS and SIDPERS is updated.

#### Step 4: Access AKO Email and follow TEB email instructions

- ✓ The GI Bill Support Team will review your application and send you an email in your AKO email with instructions if you have not met all requirements to get your transfer approved.
- Once you have met all the requirements, you will receive a TEB APPROVED email from the GI Bill Support Team.

#### Step 5: Dependent Application to VA

- ✓ When ready to attend school, your approved dependent(s) can apply for the Post 9/11 GI Bill (Chapter 33) by completing the online application form.
- ✓ See the section in this booklet "How To Apply For GI Bill Benefits," to apply online.
- ✓ Contact the VA Certifying Official at your school for information and assistance.





## How to Apply for GI Bill Benefits

#### Step 1: Apply online

- ✓ Go to https://www.vets.gov/education/apply
- ✓ Under the "Ready to apply?" heading, click on the "Select Correct Form" button.
- ✓ Answer the pop up questions, then click on the "Apply now" button when it appears. On the next page click on the "Get Started" button to begin the application.
  - When asked to choose a GI Bill chapter, ensure that you elect one that you are eligible for and want to use.
  - If you select to use the Post 9/11 GI Bill, you will be asked to relinquish another chapter of GI Bill, if you are eligible for another one.
  - At the end, upload supporting documents during the application
    - 1606 Reserve Montgomery GI Bill your NOBE (Notice of Basic Eligibility)
    - For Ch. 30 Submit your DD 2366 or DD 214
    - For a Plus-Up and/or Buy-Up option Submit your DD 2366-1
    - For GI Bill Kicker include your Kicker contract with your application

#### Step 2: Register for Classes and Track Application Progress

- ✓ Register for classes as soon as your school's registration period opens
- Schedule an appointment with your school's VA representative who handles GI Bill Processing. (Note: this is a school employee; they do not work for the VA; they typically work in the financial aid or admissions office)
  - The school's VA Rep MUST certify your attendance using a VA form 1999 and the VA Once system. This tells the VA how many hours you are taking and the cost of tuition & fees and reports your rate of pursuit (1/2 time, <sup>3</sup>/<sub>4</sub> time, full time, based on academic discipline of degree program)
  - If a payment is due before you receive your Letter of Eligibility from the VA, your VA Rep may be able to place your school account on hold to wait for payment from VA.
  - On average, the turnaround time from application to receipt of Letter of Eligibility is 6 to 8 weeks for first-time applicants.
  - You can call (888) 442-4551 to check the status of an application. The shortest wait time for a representative is at 0830 EST.
- When you receive your Letter of Eligibility from the VA, submit a copy to your on campus VA Rep.

#### Step 3: Verifying Attendance This step is not required for Post 9/11 GI Bill benefits

- ✓ EVERY MONTH while you are in school, you must verify with the VA that you are still in fact taking courses to receive your next monthly deposit.
- ✓ You can do this two ways:
  - Call 1-877-823-2378
  - Go online at <u>http://www.gibill.va.gov/wave</u> and verify attendance through the Web Automated Verification of Enrollment (WAVE)

#### Step 4: Next Semester

- Do not resubmit an online application unless you are changing schools or degree plans!
   If you have changed either of these, apply online again choosing to "Change" your program
- ✓ As soon as registration for the next term opens, register for classes early and have the school submit the 1999 in VA Once early to keep those payments coming.



## HAZLEWOOD ACT

#### **Veteran Qualifications**

#### A Veteran must:

- ✓ At the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in Texas; or was a Texas resident;
- Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions;
- Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training), as indicated by "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214);
- ✓ Have no federal Veteran's education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Post 9/11 GI Bill Chapter 33) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
- ✓ Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas; and
- Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college's governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking nonfunded courses.

The Hazlewood Act Tuition Exemption is available only for use at a Texas (tax supported) public college or university.

#### Spouse/Child Eligibility

The Hazlewood Act is also extended to spouses and dependent children of **eligible** active duty, Texas National Guard, and Air National Guard Veterans.

To be eligible the Service Member must have died in the line of duty, be missing in action, or became totally disabled for purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or illness.

**Note:** A Veteran not meeting the above service related criteria may qualify to transfer benefits under the Hazlewood Legacy Program (See Legacy Act section).



## HAZLEWOOD LEGACY ACT

The Legacy Act allows any Veteran that is eligible for Hazlewood Act benefits to transfer their exemption to their child.

#### Through the Legacy Act, an eligible child must:

- ✓ Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident
- ✓ Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year
- ✓ Be between the ages of 18-25 years old on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition)
- Meet the GPA requirement of the institution's satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution's financial aid policy
- ✓ As an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.
- If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.

If you have any questions or need additional information, visit the Texas Veterans Commission website: <u>http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx</u>

OR

Visit the Veteran's Affairs/Financial Aid Office at your child's campus to initiate the transfer.





### Testing Services Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES) Testing

#### How Do I Qualify?

> Be an active drilling member of the Army National Guard.

#### What Tests Are Available?

- > DANTES offers career-enhancing exam options, such as:
  - College admission exams (SAT, ACT)
  - o Credit-by-Examination such as CLEP
  - Graduate Entrance Exams: Reimbursement options for GMAT, GRE, and Praxis
  - o Defense Language Aptitude Battery & Proficiency Test (DLAB/DLPT)

#### How Do I Apply?

- > DANTES tests are administered at National Test Centers.
- To find a NTC near you go to:
   <u>https://apps.collegeboard.org/cbsearch\_clep/searchCLEPTestCenter.jsp</u>





## Army Personnel Testing (APT)

#### What Is APT?

The APT program encompasses standardized tests to determine eligibility for specialized training and to support the Army's personnel selection and classification process, including language proficiency testing. The program is governed by Army Regulation 611-5, Army Personnel Selection and Classification Tests.

### How Do I Qualify?

Be an actively drilling member of the Army National Guard

### What Tests Are Available?

APT offers career-enhancing exam options, such as:

- Armed Forces Classification Test (AFCT)
- Selection Instrument Flight Training (SIFT)
- Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT)
- Defense Language Reading Proficiency Test (DLRPT)
- Defense Language Aptitude Battery (DLAB)
- Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI)

### What Are The Benefits of These Tests?

- AFCT: Raise GT/Line Scores to Re-class MOS or Qualify for Officer Candidate School o There is no longer a limit on how may times this exam can be taken o There must be a minimum of 6 months between each attempt
- SIFT: Qualify for Aviation School
- DLPT/DLRPT/DLAB/OPI: Qualify for Foreign Language Billets and Proficiency Bonuses

### How Do I Apply?

Application for APT is thru your local State Education Office or Active Army Education Office

Contact your State Education Office at: 512-782-5515 ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil



## CONTACTS



## GETTING THE FACTS & PAYING FOR COLLEGE

#### **TMD Education & Incentives Office**

2200 W. 35<sup>th</sup> Street, Bldg 15 Camp Mabry, Austin, TX 78703 Main: (512) 782-5515 Website: https://tmd.texas.gov/money-for-college

Email: Education Benefits (FTA, STRP, GI Bill): ng.tx.txarng.list.education-office@mail.mil

Incentives (SLRP, Bonuses): Ng.tx.txarng.mbx.incentives@mail.mil

#### GoArmyEd

Within CONUS: 1-800-817-9990 OCONUS: 800-861-7770 Website: <u>https://www.goarmyed.com/</u>

#### **U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs**

Toll-free: 888-GIBILL-1 (888) 442-4551 From Overseas: 001-918-781-5678 Website: <u>http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/</u> or <u>https://www.vets.gov/education/</u>

WEAMS Institution Search http://inquiry.vba.va.gov/weamspub/buildSearchInstitutionCriteria.do

#### Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)

Main: 1-800-4FED-AID Website: <u>www.fafsa.gov</u> Website: <u>www.studentaid.ed.gov</u>

#### **Texas Veterans Commission**

1700 North Congress, Suite 800 Stephen F. Austin Bldg Austin, TX 78701 Main: (512) 463-5538 Toll-free: 1-877-898-3833 Website: <u>http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx</u> Email: <u>Education@tvc.texas.gov</u>

#### **Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board**

1200 E. Anderson Lane, Austin, TX 78752 Main: (512)427-6101 Toll-free: 1-811-311-8881 Website: <u>http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/</u>

#### **College Scholarships.org**

Website: http://www.collegescholarships.org/financial-aid/

#### **Higher Education Resource Center**

100 Dalton Place Way, Suite 105 Knoxville, TN 37912 Toll-free: 1-866-624-5920 or 1-865-657-2171 Website: <u>http://highereducationresourcecenter.com/</u> Email: <u>support@degreequickly.com</u>

#### Service Members Opportunity Colleges

1307 New York Avenue, NW, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Washington, DC 20005 Toll-free: 1-800-368-5622 Website: <u>http://www.soc.aascu.org</u> Email: <u>socmail@aascu.org</u>

#### TESTING

CLEP Exams-College Board Website: http://clep.collegeboard.org/military

## Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES)

6420 Saufley Field Road Pensacola, FL 32509-5243 Main: 850-452-1111 Website: <u>www.dantes.doded.mil</u>

#### Peterson's DOD MWR Library

3 Columbia Circle, Suite 205 Albany, NY 12203-5158 Toll-free: 1-609-896-1800 Website: <u>http://www.petersonsdodlibrary.com/</u>

#### MILITARY TRANSCRIPTS

Joint Services Transcript (JST) www.jst.doded.mil/smart/signin.do

#### FREE TUTORING/ACADEMIC SUPPORT

Tutor.com Toll-free: 1-800-411-1970 Website: http://www.tutor.com/





## NOTES

## EDUCATION/CAREER GOALS (Self, Family) PRIORITIES/TO-DO-LIST