## TEXAS MILITARY DEPARTMENT

## AGREEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING COMPENSATORY TIME POLICY For FLSA EXEMPT PERSONNEL

In accordance with the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the Texas Government Code, and the Texas Military Department policy regarding state compensatory time for hours recorded in excess of 40 during a work week in a position that is **EXEMPT** from the FLSA, I agree to the following rules and regulations:

- 1. I will not work or record hours in excess of 40 in a workweek without the prior approval of my supervisor.
- 2. I understand that the balance of compensatory time may not exceed 160 hours for FLSA-Exempt employees or 80 hours for Executive-Exempt employees.
- 3. When I record more than 40 hours in a workweek, I agree to be compensated for those hours over 40 recorded in the following manner:
  - a. I will be granted compensatory time off of work at the rate of one hour for each one hour of compensatory time earned, and
  - b. I must use the earned compensatory time within 12 months of the end of the work week in which it was earned, or it will be lost.

<u>Recorded hours</u> may be any combination of actual hours worked, paid leave or holidays taken during each work week as reflected on your monthly time report. Compensatory time is accrued during a work week when the combined number of hours of holiday or other paid leave and actual hours worked exceeds 40 hours.

For additional information, please refer to the agency's "Overtime/Compensatory Time Policy", Chapter III of the State Employee Policies & Procedures Handbook Number 1400.01.

Employee Signature	Date
Employee Name (Please Print)	Last Four SSN